Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Apidura Expedition Compact Frame Pack

ApiduraExpedition Compact Frame Pack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(10%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by echowhiskey
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lose the zipper flap please!

Apidura makes a lot of nice stuff, I have their racing handlebar bag and love it! This frame bag has the same excellent quality of craftsmanship with just one serious design flaw! The zipper flap! The bag already has welded waterproof zippers, the flap is redundant! The issue is that the flaps tend to fold out, like the edge of a wing, and your inner thigh catches that edge on every pedal stroke! NOPE! Instant deal breaker!

I suppose that if you kept the bag tightly packed, and only fit it into a frame that is an inch or so longer than the bag it might stay pulled tight enough to keep the flaps tucked in. I used Apidura's frame bag sizing tool on their website and purchased exactly the size that was recommended for my bike. Maybe size down if you want to try it.

I did find a frame bag that worked well, so I don't think I'm being too picky. My knees do like to come close to the top tube as I ride and I can adjust a bit based on how stuffed my bag is, but catching the hard edge of the zipper cover flap on the Apidura every pedal stroke was far too irritating for me. Your mileage may vary!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2021
by Notch
Cycling Enthusiast
minneapolis MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT bag!

Bought this for bike packing but its going to stay on the litespeed for good. i got the 4.5L and it fits my mid sized frame Appalachian perfectly. when not out packing it will hold every tool/pump/tube plus everything else i carry on my backside... but its NOT ON MY BACKSIDE! feels so nice not to have anything hanging off my body!

i ride every day, have commuted my entire life (hit 60 in June). this is a great piece of kit i wish i had "discovered" long ago!

built BURLY, every penny spent was WELL spent. Highly recommend!

btw... came QUICK AS ALL GET OUT! GREAT customer service from BTD!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by triMattB
Competitive Racer
Evansville, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Apidura knows Water!!

Put this on my 2021 Jamis Renegade S1 Custom and fit perfectly. Went on a short gravel ride the other day just north of Boonville, IN and worked perfectly. Came home and gave my bike a bath and no water got inside the bag. One thing I could say is that the Velcro straps on the top are a bit stiff stick out a bit but I will come up with a way to fix that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2021
by Dave S.
Masachusetts
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
What I wanted

Fit perfectly on the bike. Well built and waterproof. Had to get a side entry cage on down tube to fit water bottle for easier access.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Has to be one of the best bags ever.

The large fit my 59 cm Warbird perfectly, great amount of space for everything you need for a full day on the roadtrail. I have ridden with it in some strong rain and everything inside stays perfectly dry. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great half frame bag.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic waterproof bag for gravel grinding

Got the 5.3L size for my Topstone XL, and it fits perfectly. Only used it on a few rides so far, but it has great build quality and lots of room for tools, water, snacks, clothing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2021
by HO
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Frame Bag

This bag has become one of my go-to bags. It is really well-made, stiff enough not to bulge out when full, waterproof, split compartments, zippers on both sides, and attaches with no sway. It fits the space on my gravel bike perfectly too (get the measurements from Apidura's web site). When out on a day ride, I can put my wallet, keys, covid mask and phone on the narrower side of the interior division. And I put an extra jacket, food, glasses, tire kit, etc. in the larger part.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2020
by HO
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice frame pack

This bag has become a mainstay for my longer rides, not just for bikepacking. When the weather is changeable, and I might need to carry an extra pair of gloves or jacket, this bag is perfect to take everything along. It's split into two zippered sections, so I use one for clothing, and the other for phone, keys, etc. The Apidura site lists all the bikes and frame sizes around, so you can make sure it fits. Excellent bag.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/25/2020
by Xcountrybiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Western US mostly
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great for easy access!

I am touring cross country and during the day most of my load is packed away in panniers. I use the frame pack for easy access to tire repair supplies and also for snacks, sunglasses, small items I want during the day. I have a handlebar that allows for multi hand positions and a handlebar bag does not fit. The frame pack is a great alternative!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
As advertised!

Bought this for a bike packing trip in a pinch. Did everything I needed it to, I use it for my day to day travels and trips now too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 73

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]