FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Apidura Backcountry Saddle Pack

ApiduraBackcountry Saddle Pack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(27%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/1/2018
by Drew
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Changed the way we travel

We take weekend bike trips and usually will pack way more than we need. Typically we'd each have a mid sized back pack that we'd carry to the hotel or wherever we were staying and then go on our rides. I looked at Ortleib and Topeak and decided on Apidura. On the most recent trip to Martha's Vineyard we decided that the Apidura seat and handlebar bags would be our only luggage. We'd get on the ferry, go to the hotel and ride. They were perfect. Cut down on non essential gear. The handlebar bag is exceptionally spacious and both were easy to attach. There really is plenty of room in the saddlebag for a weekend trip for one person and the handlebar bag was perfect for stowing extra jacket, tools, tube and food.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by SBiciclette
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Well built & light

I bought the Apidura medium bag planning some ultralight credit card touring in spring. So far I've taken it out for a few tests. The saddlebag is light, well made, and it's hard to notice it while pedaling. While probably not as heavy duty as those with internal frame, this modelsize is perfect for an overnight, or a day outing at the beach. Look forward to take it on its first road trip!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2016
by jimsunn
Competitive Racer
Ontario, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Solid construction

Have used the Apidura for a year now on a regular daily commute. No signs of wear, stitching and hardware are all still perfect. I would recommend this based on how well it is made and how functional it is.

(Great to not use a backpack while commuting).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2017
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent bag!

Apidura makes great bags, a bit expensive, but the materials and construction are both very solid. Zero complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2015
by BBoneCloneMN
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent rackless option! Go big though.

My primary bike doesn't have rack mounts, I didn't feel like rigging something with P-clamps, and I despise riding with a backpack, so large bikepacking seat bags were my best option. This has been my trusty bag for a whole season now and I've really grown to appreciate it. For daily commuting, the MEDIUM size is large enough to carry my lunch bag and business casual clothes. I do have to plan ahead and bring my towel and shoes separately, but that's not too terribly difficult.

I've also taken this on several overnight camping trips. It holds an entire 3-person tent, ground cloth, stakes, and poles included! I also manage to stuff my inflatable pillow and small camp stove in there as well. It's astonishing what will fit in here.

My only regret is getting the Medium size. The large would probably offer just enough space to not have to treat each camping trip like an exercise in weight cutting.

Pro Tip - stuff the front or nose of this bag as tightly as possible. If there's room to compress and wiggle, the bag will do find it by mile 30 and start riding crooked or swinging a bit much. Nothing you can't fix, but best to not have to deal with it at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2017
by pbergerson
Daily Commuter
Minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love this way more than I thought I would.

I love getting things I need for a ride off my back. I commute from work, so spare clothes, lunch, gear, etc. all goes in the pouch instead of a backpack. It's larger than I need most days, but someday hope to bike longer distances and it will be perfect. The ONLY thing I dislike is there is no separation within the pack (an interior or exterior pocket for keys, money, small items) would be awesome!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Product love everything about it

I am replacing a rack so I can go ultra light both on the road and trail for bike packing in NE

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Better than I had envisioned...

A few friends of mine and I recently decided to do an overnight cycling trip from Portland out to Astoria, something like 90 miles each way on the road with a night at a hotel in between. Did a fair amount of research on different companies specializing in these types of bags and was delighted to see that Western carried such a high quality bag. Everyone in our group ended up buying some type of a bag specifically for the trip and although everyone made it just fine, mine was the only Apidura, it easily had the most cargo space, was the easiest to get inout of and, if I do say so myself, looked the slickest. Great bag, high quality, can't wait for the next trip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2017
by Bruce
Ontario Canada
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle pack

The Apidura saddle pack is very well contructed with high quality materials, excellent fastening system and it looks good too. Easily carries several tops, shorts and essentials for a multi-day Inn to Inn trip. It even has room for a small narrow thermos! My pack is a size small. I like its versatility to roll down small

(though it looks a tad sloppy when folded small) it's surprising how volumous it is when expanded, plus the top bungies can hold down my pair of sandals or vest. When loaded, I notice the bike remains stable and not out of balance. The loaded bag moves minimally. I opted for the non waterproof version. If any contents need to be waterproof, simply wrap in a plastic bag. Apidura makes high quality gear that is practical.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2017
by JonI
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
Great Bag

A solidly constructed bike bag. There's plenty of room for everything you'd want to carry. When getting off your bike, remember that the pack is there. I almost tipped over when my leg clipped the pack because I forgot it was there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2017
by thrashter
Cycling Enthusiast
Fontana,Ca
Overall Rating
used for a 3 day ride

Great product was able to pack 3 jerseys day clothes and 2 bib shorts. Could not notice weight or shifting while riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2017
by enjo108
Competitive Racer
San Diego, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Survived 2 weeks in Baja

Just returned from a 1200 mile trip down Baja California, Mexico with this saddle bag and I'm very satisfied with it. Easy to tighten down to the saddle and seatpost, with minimal swingingshifting when out of the saddle. The webbing on the top was very handy to stash a jacket, food, etc., and kept things secure. It seems very durable. Can't comment on waterproofing, as conditions were dry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2017
by Anonymous
Minneapolis
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works as expected

I bought this pack mainly for commuting purposes as I can't use any racks on my Warbird. The pack has a surprisingly good amount of room, looks sharp, and is easy to install and use. I've only made a couple rides with it but am quite happy with my purchase. At some point down the road I would love to do some bikepacking with it

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2017
by Reed O
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
A saddle pack with huge storage potential

A perfect addition for a long day in the saddle. Holds my pump, a day's worth of food, a jacket and a couple spare tubes easily. Haven't tested waterproofness. Only downside is how much it sways left to right when I stand up on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2014
by carland
new york city
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
From Boston to NYC

...bought this bag for my 3 days therapy trip from Boston to New York, plenty of space,light and strong construction...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.