Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Apidura Backcountry Saddle Pack

ApiduraBackcountry Saddle Pack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(25%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/29/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love this bag

I wanted a more versatile bag more for everyday commuting and the compact version of the Apidura Backcountry really hit the spot. Highlights are lightweight, visibility, rear light attachments, internal pocket and good construction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2019
by 14countries
Competitive Racer
tropicsinner mongolia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazing Bag

i have tons of bikepacking gear from many different brands. this is my favorite piece of them all. cant find a larger saddle bag on the market. i can fit my 1man freestanding tent, a 4.4rating inflatable sleeping pad, furoshiki vibram shoes, ice cleats, rain pants, bike pump and more all together. ive had it for years and its going strong. i use it most of the time for quick shopping trips. a full gallon of milk will fit in it perfectly with room for a few other things. thank you apidura!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2019
by turbo11
Daily Commuter
central IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
perfect size, not too big not too small

used this product to go bike packing. I think it's the perfect size, if much bigger it would be too much weight high on the bike. Some how I needed more ways to attach a rear tail light on it. This is a great product and doesn't swing when standing out of the saddle. Learn to pack smart with this style of bag.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by brischfc
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Stable, light, perfect fit, huge saddle pack

Very light. Very stable on the bike. Can fit a huge amount of bikepacking gear. Cinch straps allow it to be really well tightened down to the saddle. Exterior webbing is great for cinching down clothing items that you may want quick access to. I have not been able to test the water resistance of this bag yet, but I would pack anything inside in some plastic ziplocs or drybags, just to be sure. Really happy with this saddle bag so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Strong, secure, simple and easy to use.

Strong, secure, simple and easy to use. Great product. I pack my sleeping system in this bag (20 deg bag, bivy sack, and sleeping pad all rolled into one). fits perfectly

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2018
by CB
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent bag for those wanting more supplies wo a backpack or saddle bags

I use this bag on my 29-er. I wanted to carry some extra items while riding the C&O canal without having a rack or saddle bags. This has done the trick, the bag has tons of room and you don't notice it on the bike at all. I had several energy bars, two bottles of Gatorade, some tools and a rain jacket stuffed in the bag with a lot of room leftover.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Serve its purpose

I used this bag for touring Italy with small front panniers. It did its job caring my gear. If you have to take it off a lot like I did it takes some time to put back on when full. Was able to keep it pretty tight so it wouldnt sway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by SBiciclette
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Well built & light

I bought the Apidura medium bag planning some ultralight credit card touring in spring. So far I've taken it out for a few tests. The saddlebag is light, well made, and it's hard to notice it while pedaling. While probably not as heavy duty as those with internal frame, this modelsize is perfect for an overnight, or a day outing at the beach. Look forward to take it on its first road trip!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2016
by jimsunn
Competitive Racer
Ontario, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Solid construction

Have used the Apidura for a year now on a regular daily commute. No signs of wear, stitching and hardware are all still perfect. I would recommend this based on how well it is made and how functional it is.

(Great to not use a backpack while commuting).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Love it

Seriously love this thing. Super light and durable. The velcro is very strong. Fast shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2015
by BBoneCloneMN
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent rackless option! Go big though.

My primary bike doesn't have rack mounts, I didn't feel like rigging something with P-clamps, and I despise riding with a backpack, so large bikepacking seat bags were my best option. This has been my trusty bag for a whole season now and I've really grown to appreciate it. For daily commuting, the MEDIUM size is large enough to carry my lunch bag and business casual clothes. I do have to plan ahead and bring my towel and shoes separately, but that's not too terribly difficult.

I've also taken this on several overnight camping trips. It holds an entire 3-person tent, ground cloth, stakes, and poles included! I also manage to stuff my inflatable pillow and small camp stove in there as well. It's astonishing what will fit in here.

My only regret is getting the Medium size. The large would probably offer just enough space to not have to treat each camping trip like an exercise in weight cutting.

Pro Tip - stuff the front or nose of this bag as tightly as possible. If there's room to compress and wiggle, the bag will do find it by mile 30 and start riding crooked or swinging a bit much. Nothing you can't fix, but best to not have to deal with it at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2018
by Drew
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Changed the way we travel

We take weekend bike trips and usually will pack way more than we need. Typically we'd each have a mid sized back pack that we'd carry to the hotel or wherever we were staying and then go on our rides. I looked at Ortleib and Topeak and decided on Apidura. On the most recent trip to Martha's Vineyard we decided that the Apidura seat and handlebar bags would be our only luggage. We'd get on the ferry, go to the hotel and ride. They were perfect. Cut down on non essential gear. The handlebar bag is exceptionally spacious and both were easy to attach. There really is plenty of room in the saddlebag for a weekend trip for one person and the handlebar bag was perfect for stowing extra jacket, tools, tube and food.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2017
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent bag!

Apidura makes great bags, a bit expensive, but the materials and construction are both very solid. Zero complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2017
by pbergerson
Daily Commuter
Minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love this way more than I thought I would.

I love getting things I need for a ride off my back. I commute from work, so spare clothes, lunch, gear, etc. all goes in the pouch instead of a backpack. It's larger than I need most days, but someday hope to bike longer distances and it will be perfect. The ONLY thing I dislike is there is no separation within the pack (an interior or exterior pocket for keys, money, small items) would be awesome!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Product love everything about it

I am replacing a rack so I can go ultra light both on the road and trail for bike packing in NE

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Overall Rating
Solid Seatpost Bag

I found this to be a great first bikepacking bag. The 14L size is big enough to use on overnight trips, but it can pack down to a small size when rolled up. My only complaint is that no matter how much you tighten the bag it does have a minor sway when out of the saddle. The bungee cords on top are a nice touch. Overall I'd recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2019
by Jellyfish10
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Overall Rating
spacious bag but problems with tire hitting

First off the medium beg holds a surprising amount of gear. I loaded it up for a trial run on my rear suspension bike, and there I found the limitation. With medium sized bumps and suspension travel, the rear tire hits the bottom of the bag and would likely rub a hole in the bag. I'm planning on taking it on a 200 mile hut to hut trip in two weeks, and now not sure. I tried raising my seat, which helped a little, but the problem persists. Can anyone recommend how to improve upon this?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2019
by John
Long Island,New York
Overall Rating
360 mile test

Got this bag for a six day Erie Canalway bike trip and it was great. At first I had this thing packed to the brim and it swayed as I rode. I even had It drooping down and hitting my rear wheel at times. This was the first bag of this type Ive ever used however so I pretty much didnt know what I was doing. I quickly became a pro as my trip progressed though. Theres a right and efficient way to pack this thing up as well as how to tighten the straps up. Once you get it the bag is great. Ive read one or two negative reviews online about the swaying issue but Id imagine theyre coming from people who havent used it enough. Again its a great bag. Cant wait to use it on my next journey.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great bag ..

Ive been using it more than a month and it works amazing..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2017
by Bruce
Ontario Canada
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle pack

The Apidura saddle pack is very well contructed with high quality materials, excellent fastening system and it looks good too. Easily carries several tops, shorts and essentials for a multi-day Inn to Inn trip. It even has room for a small narrow thermos! My pack is a size small. I like its versatility to roll down small

(though it looks a tad sloppy when folded small) it's surprising how volumous it is when expanded, plus the top bungies can hold down my pair of sandals or vest. When loaded, I notice the bike remains stable and not out of balance. The loaded bag moves minimally. I opted for the non waterproof version. If any contents need to be waterproof, simply wrap in a plastic bag. Apidura makes high quality gear that is practical.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 44