Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
45Nrth Wrathchild 26 Inch Studded Fat Bike Tire

45NrthWrathchild 26 Inch Studded Fat Bike Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(88%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by David W.
New England
Overall Rating
Big improvement over Dillinger 5s!

These beasts are heavy - lets just get that out of the way. But the performance in icy or mixed conditions is just so much better than my previous Dillinger 5s. Climbing performance is also much better. Sure, I still hit places where I lose traction and slide around, but Im not sure any tire would be better in those conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Yellowknife NWT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Packed snow at -35. Good side grip.

Riding in the far north in Canada, with temp hovering at -30 plus wind chill. Commuting each day on hard pack and soft snow. Rides well, and especially excellent side grip around corners. Because of the crazy price I only bought one for the front, and DID slide out on the read tire trying to get around an off camber packed road bermat about 40KMH. It's all good, no big crash! Lots of fun though!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2020
by Eric
St. Paul, MN
Overall Rating
A breath of fresh, cold air

I use this tire on the front and a Dillinger 4 on the back. I can't compare that setup to any other, since last winter I was running just the Dillinger up front. I will say, though, that this St Paul winter commuter is very satisfied with the security gained from these tires. But don't take lightly the rolling resistance the transition to pavement from ice highlights the fact that these are designed for grip more than speed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2020
by Crashnburn56
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire .... follow the directions of 45 N or you will lose studs !!! Lots of them !!!!

Pro ..Hooks good in snow and great on ice. Make sure to ride on the road to seat the studs of you will lose a ton of them Con... very expensive 45 N. does not include any extra studs or the tool to insert them at this price I think it would be great if they did but I guess when you're the best tire on the market it doesn't matter just watch for when they are on sale and buy them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2018
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I love these tires

This is my first set of studded tires and I got them based on the previous review. We recently had some warm weather that made our trails ribbons of ice. We received a little new snow and with these tire I feel like I can dive into the corners with confidence. I have been able to climb hills that I that I usually spun out on in the past. After three days on these tires on icy trails I am very happy. I am hoping to get some fresh deep powder to try them out in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by Victoryrider
Bismarck, ND
Overall Rating
Studly

Mounts easily 1st time. Don't think need sealant. Went on 70mm rim but think get more face without airing down with 80mm or wider. Holds to anything. Hard part getting convidence that will. Not hard to push. Have done 67mi in 6.5 hr.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2019
by dlee
Cycling Enthusiast
NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great on ice and snow.

Have had quite a few rides on these and they are amazing on ice. Have compared them to others riding different tires and on ice have a lot more bit vs others. In the snow they have deep lugs and work quite well. Studs have held up well and have only lost one riding varied terrain of snow, ice, frozen bare ground. They have in my opinion a bit more bite over the dillinger 5's on ice but seem comparable in other conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by ggkid71
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Look no further. These are the studded fat bike tires you want if you're looking for aggressive studs and knobs!

Coming from Dillinger 5 studded tires, I was looking for a more aggressive, studded fat bike tire that was also tubeless ready. While I liked my Dillinger 5 studded tires, they just didn't handle well in the deep snow and I didn't like how the handled on turns. The fact that the Wrathchilds have studs on the outermost knobs as well really gives them a confident bite on turns. Riding here in the Northeast has been on glare ice ribbons for the better part of the past couple of months. Having these tires has given me the confidence to continue riding regardless of the conditions. I did get one good ride in with deeper snow and where the Dillinger 5's would have failed me, the Wrathchilds were up to the task. I can confidently tell you that these tires are the favorite amongst my peers. I know of at least 6 other riders that have bought these same tires this winter. I have heard reports from others that they have been losing studs. I have not lost any. And 45NRTH has done the right thing by sending replacement studs to those that have been losing them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 00