Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Zipp 303 Firecrest Tubeless Disc Brake Wheelset

Zipp303 Firecrest Tubeless Disc Brake Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by SunflowerState Cyclist

Reviewed 10/10/2023
by SunflowerState Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Topeka, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent all arounder

Excellent upgrade. Rolls faster at a more comfortable psi in the tires. The wider internal width of the rim has allowed the same size tire to more consistent radius across the contact patch from side to side. More round vs oval if you were to look at a cross section. Much less road chatter felt vs old aluminum wheels. And able to easily use for multiple surfaces. The Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR tires mounted pretty easily and only required a standard pump.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 7/2/2023
by John
Competitive Racer
Viera Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very Fast gravel wheel set

These wheels are a great gravel wheel-set, especially with a nice discount from my friends at BikeTiresDirect! I found they were easy to set up and running s-works pathfinder 42mm tires with turbo light inserts and set up tubeless of course. The wheels roll slightly faster than my Black Inc gravel wheels with ceramic speed bearings, and feel great on pavement and even better on gravel roads. Dry happy with Zipp 303�s

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/4/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great all around wheel set

Great rolling, light weight and handles very well in cross winds. Even better when they were on sale, hard to beat.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/12/2023
by Anonymous
Rhode Island
Overall Rating
Nice Wheels

This is my first set of carbon wheels and there is no going back! I�m not a racer or peloton rider and mainly ride for fitness and fun. I put around 300 miles on these so far, and they are really nice. Well made, very light and fast. Happy I made the upgrade.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/12/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Top notch upgrade

Currently set up with Schwalbe Pro One 32s for road use on a Giant Revolt. Noticeably faster and lighter than stock wheels. Definitely feel the cross winds but manageable. The feel like the get up to speed quick and are easier to maintain speed. Tubeless set up was a breeze and running 32s between 55-65 psi ride is great. Had some 38s on for a few rides at lower pressure and they were very plush. Have a few road events planned before switch tires to a gravel setup. Looking forward to that!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/12/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orem, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fast, lightweight, great all-round wheelset

The wheels were in perfect condition right out of the box, perfectly true with no visible defects. They are quite light, and not bothered by crosswinds, but also deep enough to provide some aero goodness. The hubs are an unknown quantity since they are a new design, but out of the box they are super smooth, and Zipp's warranty lends some confidence. Great all-round wheels for an endurance bike, especially for riding that includes lots of climbing on poor-quality pavement.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/23/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Super wheelset

Replaced a set of Zipp 303s with the new Firecrest. I like the rear hub engagement over the 303s and the wide rims really spread the tire out for maximum comfort. I mounted 32 mm tires and the they measure 34 when mounted. This is the most comfortable wheel set I've ever ridden. I ride a lot of rough payment and these really reduce the chatter. Plus the wheels are light and aero and I've not experienced any issue with crosswinds. The most perfect wheels I've owned and fairly priced when compared to similar brands.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GK

Reviewed 12/23/2021
by GK
eugene, or
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty nice

If you are looking for a great tubeless wheelset, then look no further. My prior experience with tubeless was on Reynolds wheels and was poor. They were easy to mount, but I couldn't reliable get them to hold air and ultimately lost trust in them and went back to tubes. Anyway the zipps were a challenge to mount, I couldn't do it by hand, but with some levers and a lot of expletives I finally mounted schwalbe pro one tle. They sealed up with only a track pump and have held air perfectly to the point I don't even think about it anymore, the way it should be. My 30c tires measure 32 on the zipps wide width. They spin up nicely and ride great. I have only had them just over a month, so not a ton of miles given the pretty terrible weather lately, but I am looking forward to a lot of blissful rides once the weather improves.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim R

Reviewed 10/14/2021
by Tim R
Beautiful East Dallas, Texas
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Slightly less QC during pandemic

I had my eye on these wheels since they came out.

My order - BTD had a "20% off entire cart day" AND these were actually just backordered, so I took the plunge. The backorder took less time than estimated, so that was a nice surprise.

The product -

There seems to a slight quality control issue with some extra material (bonding plastics or machining flash or even masking material) remaining around each of the spoke holes. I spent an evening carefully plucking the extra material from the spoke holes with tiny needle nose pliers. My guess is that our pandemic has the manufacturer scrambling to operate with the highest quality control possible. Not such a big deal to me.

Other than that:

The wheels are great to ride on, on mixed surfaces.

The branding stickers are not durable at all. I have already got a nice scratch through one of them from lite contact with a plastic tire level. At first, I really wanted to remove the stickers, but I read that that would void the warranty...

Overall, I'm very happy with these and will treat them as bombproof on and off road.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joe

Reviewed 2/9/2023
by Joe
SF bay area
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lighter, lower rolling resistance

Nice upgrade. Lighter than my Dura Ace carbon wheels for climbing and faster acceleration. I can run 50 psi with 28mm tires for lower rolling resistance and comfortable ride. The hubs are excellent and roll fast. I can use these on my gravel/cx bike as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 8/10/2023
by John
Viera, Fl
Overall Rating
Best gravel wheels on the planent

Well, at least faster than my Black Inc. thirty fours which are also very nice wheels. The are easy to mount tires and set up tubeless and handle gravel roads with ease and spin fast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 8/11/2023
by John
Viera, Fl
Overall Rating
Best gravel wheels on the planet

Well, at least faster than my Black Inc. thirty fours which are also very nice wheels. The are easy to mount tires and set up tubeless and handle gravel roads with ease and spin fast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Zipp 303 Firecrest

Great wheels for the money

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Duckberry

Reviewed 3/22/2022
by Duckberry
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkshires
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome

Was lucky to buy these last fall before prices went up and production times lagged out 6 months. I put 44mm tires on these, tubeless, on my gravel bike with an Eagle 10-50t cassette. Tubeless setup was surprisingly easy. I had been riding a set of 650b wheels with 2.25 inch tires on the gravel bike, so the Zipps made that bike feel like a rocket ship. Fast, light, smooth, durable. Great hub sound. Zero trouble with the hookless design.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by indigo120

Reviewed 12/8/2021
by indigo120
Cycling Enthusiast
long beach ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
reply to mcbiker in colorado bmc roadmachine

I was told that the firecrest 303 would not fit a bmc road machine. How close was your tolerances?What tire did you use. I believe bmc road machine only has a 32 mm clearance which does not leave enough room for the 30 wide firecrest plus tires.

thanks for a resposne

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MCBiker

Reviewed 10/21/2020
by MCBiker
Competitive Racer
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Wider and lighter

Bought this to replace Roval CL 50 wheelset on my BMC Roadmachine. The Firecrests are lighter, have a hub that engages faster, are less buffeted in the wind and the wider width allows me to run lower tire pressures. I like a stealth look so I peeled off the decals. I set them up with Schwalbe Pro One TLE 2020 tires and Orange sealant. Tires were easy to mount, air up and sealed with no issues. Great wheelset.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/12/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wide and fast wheels!

Great upgrade to stock wheels, they work well for both gravel and road. Hub is fast and the wheels look great!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LAgravel

Reviewed 12/20/2021
by LAgravel
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice set for gravel

Great set of wheels for gravel. Great upgrade!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PedalEnthusiast

Reviewed 3/6/2021
by PedalEnthusiast
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Everything I hoped for

Pick a superlative and it applies to this wheelset. Fast. Light. Amazing price. Easy set-up. Great warranty. Good looking. What else do you need?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff S

Reviewed 5/22/2023
by Jeff S
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Gravel Wheel Thats Great on The Road Too

Purchased these Sept '22 for easier tubeless mounting and road to gravel and back tire switch without killing myself. Also hoped for legendary Zipp performance when riding. Damn, these wheel do both. Compared to my hooked Reynolds Attack wheels I used for gravel, the 303 Firecrest hookless mounting is a dream! I change from tubeless Pirelli hookless compatible road tires to Panaracer gravel whenever I want. No problems running hookles on gravel at 40 psi. And out yesterday on a gravel ride, I just love how they climb and track through the gravel. Fun, snappy, a real pleasure. Did I buy a magically delivered 4 mph in speed? Not really, but they do everything a gravel wheel needs to do and then some. I love these wheels, they're a value, and so happy with them I want to share my expereince.

with any have used on ravel rides summer, road out of gravel season.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]