Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Tufo Elite Ride 23 Tubular Road Tire

TufoElite Ride 23 Tubular Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(8)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(64%)
(29%)
(4%)
(4%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 1/28/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very satisfied with this tire

So far, very satisfied with these tires, I have rideen Tufo tubulars before, and needed a 23mm for new wheel set, This appeared to be only Tufo road tire available in that size, I have riden over 1000 miles on the tires so far, and tread wear is holding up pretty well, also have run over some debris that has caused a few minor slits in the tread, but tires seems to have held up well in spite of the minor damage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2012
by Ridecuzican
Competitive Racer
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Training Tire. Finding the proper psi is the key.

I have about 500 miles on these tires to date with no issue. I have experimented with different pressures and found that 140-150 is a good comprimise. They take more psi to reduce the rolling resistance than other tubulars.

Overall, I would put this tire in the training versus racing category due to the high rolling resistance.

I would NOT use any type of tape on this tire but good old fashion glue. I tried the tape just to see and it made the tire ride very lumpy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2012
by Fossil Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
3000 miles and running on my front

Some emergency braking took my back tire into the red layer and I had a puncture on the back just under 1,000 miles, but the front is performing very well with over 3,000 miles logged. I'm on my third rear tire in that time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2011
by braytd1
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkeley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice ride. Rather Short Life.

They are a nice ride but I get only about 1200 miles for a rear tire. A bit short in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2010
by Ewert
Competitive Racer
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite all-around tire

I have been riding tubulars almost exclusively for the past several years and this is my favorite. I've tried most of the better tires on the market from Tufo, Continental and Vittoria and this tire offers the best combination of ride quality, performance and durability. With the Tufo extreme sealant, I rarely have a flat that requires me to replace the tire.

This tire won't last quite as long as some high-performance clinchers, but I can usually get 1200 miles or more on the rear and at least 2500 miles on the front before I have to replace them.

The lighter tires like the S3 Lite and Elite Jet might be marginally faster, but they're much easier to flat. I love these tires. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2010
by earlfoss
Competitive Racer
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Not great mileage

I got maybe 1000mi out of this tire before the center tread started to wear through and I got a flat over the weekend. Good racing tire, I wouldn't trust it for fast trainingevery day training though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2012
by DK
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Best for how I ride

I am one of those hardy few - some would say foolhardy few - who ride tubulars for everyday training and club rides. I just love the way they ride. However, it took a number of experiments before I settled on Tufo tape rather than glue, on a roadside repair process that was as quick as changing a tube, and most importantly, these tires. I have since had a very happy mix of performance and flat resistance. That it IS somewhat of a compromise is why 4 stars, not 5.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2012
by Nokomis Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Nokomis, FL and Cape Cod, MA
Overall Rating
Nice handling tire

I use these with Stan's sealant on my carbon rims and they install (with Tufo tape) and handle very well. I have not gotten great wear on them, but it may just be an unfortunate series of road debris to blame. I have two tires waiting to go on next so I'm committed to the tire. Watch for it on sale, I have noticed an occasional $15 price bump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 80