FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
TRP Spyre Road Mechanical Disc Brake

TRPSpyre Road Mechanical Disc Brake(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/4/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
TRP Spyre mechanical disc calipers - a solid upgrade to my commuter

I replaced the stock disc brake calipers on my commuter bike with the TRP Spyre and I am very pleased with the improved braking performance. The dual pad actuation is a noticeable improvement over what I had on there. Installation and adjustment were relatively simple. Great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2015
by Bryan S
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Nearly the best mechanical caliper you can buy

Outstanding product. Works beautifully. Takes a little tweaking to get them dialed in the first time after intial mounting, though, but once you have, they're awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2015
by schrapnel
Cycling Enthusiast
Renton, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Working great after 1,800 miles!

The revised version of the Spyre that reached the market over a year ago is a fantastic mechanical brake. I replaced the HYRD on my Salsa Fargo after problems with needing to be bled (TRP did the exchange and was great about it). I like the Spyre so much, I spec'd the brake on my new road bike as well and I'm seriously looking at switching to the Spyke when my Avid hydraulics on the mountain bike need to be rebuilt.

Maintenance is a snap and the individual positioning of each pad using a 3mm hex lets you dial in freeplay to your preference. The original pads were good for over 1,500 miles of heavy commuting. The nearly ubiquitous Shimano M515 pad is interchangeable with the stock pads, so you can choose from many suppliers to get the pad type you want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Effective, light and pretty!

Since both pads move, they don't bend the rotors. This allowed me to use the XTR rotors with an aluminum core and heatsinking. The XTR rotors have a very stiff carrier which was clearly not intended to be flexed.

Being able to adjust both pads also makes adjusting t he pad clearance a LOT easier, And they do look really sweet on my black and white Ridley frame!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by treat_yo_self
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Brakes Real Good

Straightforward to set up. Includes rotor. Good modulation for mechanical disc brake. 2-piston design is a game changer. Downside is you need to use the more expensive compressionless brake housing or they will feel lousy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
When I am move on the bike but do not desire to be move, the brake it stops me good as well brake should.

I love brake like own son. It stop me from hitting tree like real son stop me from hitting wife.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2015
by Ricky
Portland
Overall Rating
Easy to adjust but be mindful if you're a bit heavy

I love these brakes and I will always buy them for disc road bikes or cross bikes. The only thing that sucks is that they are a bit burly and if you press on the handlebars too hard whole you're mashing away the spokes may flex and hit the brake itself. Aside from that these brakes are easy to adjust and way better than the Hayes cx expert brakes I had.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best Mechanical Disc

I have been running TRP Spyre brakes on a gravel race bike for a year now. I have several other bikes with the BB7 brakes and the TRP has far better modulation and the big plus is wheel changes don't require adjustment for each wheel change like the BB7. I will be converting my cyclocross bike to the TRP brakes this year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2013
by Boldaddy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best mechanical disc brake yet!

I am very impressed with these brakes. I have another bike with Avid bb7 brakes.

Setup was super easy - much easier than the avids. I haven't worn them down enough to find out how the pads last or hold adjustment.

The barrel adjust is also a nice plus.

I'm going to replace the Avids on my other bike with these, or their hydraulic version.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.