FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Soma Fabrications Steel Core 2 Tire Levers

Soma FabricationsSteel Core 2 Tire Levers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(0)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(50%)
(0%)
(10%)
(20%)
(20%)
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Bcyspec
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty good levers

I use these on my road bike and mountain bike. I guess it's about impossible to make an extra strong lever to install stubborn tires these are not as strong as I had hoped but they're better than the ones I had.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A must have for every cyclist!!!

This set of tire levers are awesome and you will not be disappointed. They are very strong and the right size to work confortable without worrying if they are going to fail on you and will not damage your rims. I would buy a second set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2015
by velocio
Cycling Enthusiast
des moines
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
tips broke off, Soma fail

tips broke off mounting some moderately tough rims ( old shimano ); parks and another brand worked

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
We're sorry to hear these levers did not perform as expected. Feel free to get in touch so we can offer you a replacement. Anna BTD
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2014
by Aaron
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Broke on second use.

These seem like a great idea in theory. However, the second time I used them, the plastic tip broke off and the metal bent putting on a tire that I had previously put on using normal plastic Kool Stop levers. It was kind of sketchy how it broke too, as the plastic broke into some really sharp pieces.

I will be returning these.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for the review. We have seen other plastic levers break from other brands, but this is a first we've heard from Soma. Please stop in our store or contact us anytime. Looking forward to getting you a replacement or substitute for another brand. Thanks again -Thomas
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2014
by J L Sanders
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough levers

We do a lot of touring and these levers put my mind at rest. Having a flat is one thing, breaking your tire lever is something else. I don't see that happening with these levers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/16/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Okay levers, overall, though far from unbreakable

Broke one of the two Soma levers on the first attempt to remove a tire. Note, the new tires are incredibly difficult to change on my rims, so I expect it is somewhat unusual. I replaced my old levers with the Soma levers due to the advertised steel core. Unfortunately, when attempting to remove my tire, the nylon shell fractured and pulled away from one of the levers leaving an exposed steel bar. The second lever is still holding up well, and I use it along with another manufacturer's lever. In general, I like the levers as they are simple and easy to handle, and I like the feel of the steel weight in the lever. But, like any tire lever, they can be easily broken on difficult tire/rim combinations. The manufacturer agreed to replace the broken lever, under warranty, but never responded after I provided my shipping address.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2013
by Johnbar155
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Clever design until you have to use them in the field

I thought these we a clever answer to a tire lever because it had plastic over metal base.

This facilitated sipping the bead off the rim. However when on a bike tour, on the side of the road,

both ends broke off, the hook side and the sip side. Still usable but Soma has to do a better job

of reinforcing the lever design.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2013
by tryflow
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough tire levers!

Tough tire levers. Use them in my shop, no breaky. Worth a little extra money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2014
by KMGreen
Casual Cyclist
Idaho Falls, ID
Overall Rating
You need them when you need them...you just hope you don't need them.

As advertised, the steel core is virtually unbreakable...but you can break off the 'working ends' if you use the lever for other than removing tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2016
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Buy them!

I never thought I would fall in love with something as simple as a pair of tire levers. Don't waste your money on cheap plastic levers. These could mean the difference between being stranded on the side of the road - or getting your flat fixed fast, and moving on. It's a great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.