FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Smith Overtake MIPS Road Helmet

SmithOvertake MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(64%)
(36%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/17/2017
by PappyDelaware
Competitive Racer
Newark, DE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Helmet on the Market

I have had many road helmets over the years and I will say this is the best helmet to date. It is very aero and has a lot of ventilation for those hot steamy summer days. The fit is great and the forward view is unobstructed like many of Smiths rival competition. The mesh screen should be on all helmets, it keeps the bugsbees out yet does not obstruct airflow. Smith has hit a home run with this helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by suds155
Cycling Enthusiast
Mi& Il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I like it A lot

My 1st road helmet, all ways used MTB helmets before this. I like the fit, weight& looks of it. After my friend crashed and got a concussion, with a standard helmet, I got the Smith mips& glad I did. Seems to cut through the air, don't ever want to crash, but if I do this helmet will be on my head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2016
by Joseph Zahriya
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Product exceeded my acpectations

Construction is great and light weight i would recommend this to any one thats in the market for a new helmet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2017
by MM
Cycling Enthusiast
Delaware
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not for very hot wether

Purchased this helmet from BTD several months ago. It is extremely light weight and the most comfortable fit of any helmet I've owned. However, it does not vent well so I use an older Giro when it is very hot and humid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2015
by Rclouviere
Central Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Lid

A buddy bought this helmet and had great things to say about it, and, it looked great. However, he paid over $330! I wanted it, but wasn't willing to pay so much. Biketiresdirect had it for over $100 less. And, I could earn $21 in rewards (gold member). Great deal for a premium helmet. And, the one I got was MIPS certified God ultimate safety.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2015
by MattS
Competitive Racer
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Light Helmet

This is a very nice helmet. Incredibly light when you first grab it. I was a bit skeptical about the Aerocore and its ability to keep your lid cool, but after a few rides, I have no issues with overheating. As a matter a fact, I love the fact I don't get debrisinsectsbees caught in my hair anymore. I went with the White Frost in size Medium and it fits well. Hard to put a price on protecting your melon. And as usual, BikeTiresDirect had a good price on it and shipped fast!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2018
by John P
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Saved my bacon

Great fit, looks and bee in your bonnet protection. Reasonably light. But here is the thing, none of that matters if it doesn't work. I crashed at 27mph on gravel. High sided it over the bars and hit my head hard. The helmet did it's job in spades ... the Koroyd collapsed and the helmet broke and displaced in the rear almost 2. I had zero concussion symptoms. Ordered another one without blinking an eye.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2018
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Desert, CA
Overall Rating
Fit, Feel, Saftey

Road riding 150 plus miles per week, I have two colors and now replacing white after a little crash.

Saved my head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2017
by RatherBcycling
Cycling Enthusiast
Sante Fe
Overall Rating
First helmet I''ve owned that stays in place without being too low on the forehead

I've had helmets from Giro, Bell, Kask, Catlike, and Lazer, and they'd always end up pushing my sunglasses down and had to constantly be repositioned. The Smith Overtake is the first helmet I've owned that didn't have this problem. It's very comfortable and I like the way it looks. Ventilation may be a bit slightly lacking compared to some of the more open high-end helmets, but I've worn it in 100 degree heat without a problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
Most comfortable helmet I've owned.

Light and comfortable. Very adjustable fit - accommodates winter cap. Seems sturdy and stable. Use it for road riding and feel safer because of the high visibility orange color. The one negative so far is that because of the koroyd inner shell I haven't found a good way to attach my safe zone mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2017
by shelley155
Cycling Enthusiast
Merritt Island, Florida
Overall Rating
This helmet is VERY comfortable and easily fitted.

I have not yet tried it in hot weather so I don't know how cool it will be. I'm a road cyclist. Fits well, is comfortable, and easily adjusted.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.