FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Slime Self-Sealing Tubes

SlimeSelf-Sealing Tubes(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(70 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(35)
(30)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(50%)
(43%)
(3%)
(1%)
(3%)
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Lehi, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice product for a fair price

Used these when I switched out my off road tires for road tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Lehi, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice product for a fair price

Used these when I switched out my off road tires for road tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Port Townsend, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They're great.

It's the only tubes I use anymore. They really work.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2018
by ChicagoBiker
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So Far So Good

Two months and no flats yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2017
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
More weight then a normal tube but for my commuter bike just another way to protect myself from flats.

I have a beltdrive and getting my rear wheel out is just a little more time consuming. So this is just another layer of protection to avoid flats. I use it on my raincommutergravel bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Lake Stevens
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tubes

My wife and I use these tubes on our daily commuter bikes. And after a year of service she got a flat. Upon closer inspection the tube actually had 7 punctures that sealed. Ironically, this last one sealed too and she was able to get home safely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colordao
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good protection against the dreaded goathead!

Like Great protection against thorns and pinch flats.

Dislike Heavy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2017
by Commuter Curt
Daily Commuter
Morgan Hill, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Extra Insurance

First of all, I'm completely comfortable changing tubes and tires along side the road. No issues for me to complete the task in 10 minutes or less. I just don't always leave myself enough time. Here is the problem, my commute involves a train and a 10 mile bike ride. I don't always leave myself enough time and if the wind is blowing the wrong direction, and I get a flat, I miss the train and I'm in for a much longer bike ride. The extra rotating mass from the slime isn't ideal, but it provides a little extra insurance if that glass or goat head decides to catch a ride in my tire. Its just good insurance and if I burn a few extra calories, all the better

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2016
by Giant rider hurting at home
Cycling Enthusiast
Temecula, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
What gives

I ride because it is part of my physical therapy regiment. I have back, leg, and foot issues and after my latest diagnoses, I can only ride a bike (and I used to hike, walk, and jog but can't because of health reasons) I have been using Slime tubes for years and had a pretty good supply stocked up. I understand that were I live I will occasionally get a flat that is why I carry the necessary extra tubes and a pump on all of my rides. Something must have happened because the last time I stocked up I must have received a defective batch or something because I have had to replace 4 flats in the last two weeks. One ride last week took me two hours to travel three miles....why, because I had to replace two tubes on the same tire on the same trip. You might think flat, no big deal...with back and leg problems, pushing home a bike makes worse my condition and the last time I ended up staying in bed for a whole day and missing work as a result. I used to think Slime was wonderful, but now not so much...especially since the last flat was result of a tube split on a seam which was on the rim side of the tube. This screams obvious defect and poor quality of workmanship (well at least on this last batch). Definitely going to Slime.com and tell them what's what. Four times I've had to replace flat tubes that refused to hold any air. I'm not a rocket scientist but if this isn't a result of a bad batch and represents just a single incident, we'll see, but if this is the new normal for slime tubes, it's obvious that they are a waste of money, time, and my health...too bad, they used to make a wonderful product.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi,

Thank you for the product review. We are sorry to hear about your experience but would be happy to help get you set up with replacement tubes or anything else. Please call or email us at your convenience, and we will get started on helping out you.

Best, Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Don't buy

Pure garbage! I ordered about 4-6 of these and on nearly all the presta valved stem separated from the tube after about 5 minutes of riding. Think one or two held up but the rest failed quickly. Additionally, there's not a whole lot of slime in the tube either......just enough to call it a slime tube and enough to cover your thumb nail when the valve stem breaks off after you look at it wrong. Super-duper fragile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good tubes so far

I haven't put many miles on the new tubes but wanted to try the slime tubes in case I pick up a thorn.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best money can buy!!!!!!!

Have not had a single problem with this product

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2015
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good for Commuteres

The tubes seem heavy. I use it on my commuting bike (would hate to get a flat on the way to work) but would NOT use it on my touring steed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2015
by desert g
Cycling Enthusiast
Moab, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
hit and miss with the quality

I have been using slime tubes for various application for about 7 years. They have been good at sealing goat head thorn punctures and small wire but still require re-inflation. Larger debris and glass will require a patch. Out of the past 2 I bought, one had a valve stem failure out of the box but I didn't realize until after installed so I couldn't return. Similar quality issues with the slime products over the past 6 months has me looking for other alternatives on bicycles I change tires on for various conditions (hence, the tubeless option is out)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/12/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
I've been slimed!

I installed this inner tube on the rear wheel of my mountain bike. In 25 years of riding, I've had many flat rear tires, but only about 2 or 3 flats on the front. It must be because of the higher weight distribution to the rear wheel. I'm hoping the slime in the tube will seal any flats, but don't have any yet. So far this year, I've only been commuting about 25 miles tofrom work on regular asphalt roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Works well but you can save money by sliming your own standard tubes

No mess is nice but they are a bit pricey. They work great for small punctures and always get me home!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Always make it home

Is there anything more frustrating than changing tubes mid-ride? Not for me. This is a great product that got me through the last 16 miles of the bike on my recent 70.3 when I picked up a tack but was able to finish the race.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2014
by test tuber
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
I've used them for years bu this one failed

I have used Slime tubes for years with great success. I have ridden in thorn and cactus infested areas for hundreds of thousands of mile. Not to mention the hundreds of small sealups,I once had a gnarly 4 inch thorn go thru the tread and out the sidewall, I pulled it out spun the tire and watched the green wonder goo seal it up. I never changed that tube until the tire went bald, several hundred miles later.

I was dissapointed though when this last tube I used separated at the stem rubber connection at initial fillup. Too much of a pain in the ass to send it back so I ate it.

Even given that, these tubes are worth their weight in thorns.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear about the defective tube you received. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with our customer service department at [email protected] so we can make it right.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2013
by aalope2001
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tube at a great price if you are not worried about weight.

I use the slime tubes on my mountain bike and they work great. I decided to buy these for my road bike for training to minimize the possibility of a tube swap during a ride. These tubes do hold up and will typically allow you to finish a ride before the leak forces a tube swap. I did get a pinched tube with one of these and it did not stop the leak, so for that reason I gave 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2013
by Mendy37
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tubes!

These tubes are great. We live in an area where there are tons of thorns. I did nothing but patch tires. Haven't had to do one repair since putting these on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.