FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Shimano WH-RX05 Disc Clincher Wheelset

ShimanoWH-RX05 Disc Clincher Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(44%)
(44%)
(0%)
(0%)
(11%)
Reviewed 4/29/2018
by Olivier
Daily Commuter
Victoria, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not great for e-bikes and commuting

These wheels came with my e-bile Felt e95 Sport. I bought this bike new in 2016 and after 10000km I had already replaced 7 spokes. Each time they break at the thread near the nipple during breaking. It looks like 28 spokes are not enough to withstand heavy commuting and disc breaks. The inner wall of the rear rim is also cracked, maybe due to pot-holes. I have to replace it. I would not recommend these wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2017
by Nooksack Ranger
Daily Commuter
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
excellent value

I have put more than 8,000 commuting and training miles in rain and nasty weather on this wheelset. Aside from one broken spoke, I have experienced no issues. The wheels are still true. Hard to beat the value you could spend more on a set of skewers. Weight? With this kind of reliability and value, who cares?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2017
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good Solid Wheels for Low Price

Since I haven't put the wheels on the road yet, I can't give a final opinion at this time, but I have mounted new tires and attached the discs to them. They seem to be very good wheels for the price. I am going to mount them on my Montague folding bike as soon as I get the disc brakes mounted on the bike. The new wider tires and disc brakes will be a definite upgrade for the bike. As usual, BTD had the best prices anywhere.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Clear choice as upgrade to my commuter bike

I purchased these wheels as an upgrade to the stock wheels on my Charge Plug 3, which is my commuter bike. I did not realize it at the time (probably due to my relative ignorance of the world of disc brakes) that these were not compatible with the stock wheels' brake rotor - these are centerlocking while the stock wheels were six-bolt. So, after purchasing the appropriate rotor I mounted these with just a little bit of work to adjust the brake calipers from contacting the rotor mounts when the wheels spun. All good. These are affordable, attractive, and have proven durable over their first 500 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2016
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid wheels, great value

Put these on my commuter last month and love em. They're not light but, who cares, I'm not racing on em! Give these a try if you're looking for a good, inexpensive disc wheel set. The value alone will make you smile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2015
by deeBiker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
these wheels are boss!

I bought these wheels to compliment a rain bikecommuter (Soma Double Cross Disc). These wheels are bombproof, reasonably stiff, and for the price you can't shake a stick at them.

I really like how solid these wheels feel on rough pavement. They're not light but they ride like the boss. Seriously, for the money, you can't beat these wheels.

I also appreciate that they're completely rebuildable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2014
by Tommy
Competitive Racer
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best value out there for RoadCX Disc

Not 11 speed compatible! Once I got past that and installed them on my cross bike, I knew I chose a winner. These have bomb proof bearings, 32 bladed stainless steel spokes and 23mm wide rims. They've already past the worst cross conditions they will ever see and I'm excited to throw road tires on them for the spring. Best value I've seen in a wheel set so far. Will look for an 11 speed version from Shimano when my components demand it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2018
by Keith
Daily Commuter
Corvallis
Overall Rating
Good value

I got these to replace the wheels on my old commuter bike. The price was right and they may be a little nicer than the stock wheels that came with the bike. I think they look pretty good, too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2015
by pdxcrossguy
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bang For Buck Disc Wheelset out there

I bought these wheels to compliment a rain bikecommuter (Soma Double Cross Disc). These wheels are bombproof, reasonably stiff, and for the price you can't shake a stick at them.

I really like how solid these wheels feel on rough pavement. They're not light but they ride like a lively brick ****house. Seriously, for the money, you can't beat these wheels.

I also appreciate that they're completely rebuildable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.