FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c

SchwalbeMarathon Plus 700c(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(268 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(210)
(50)
(4)
(1)
(3)
(78%)
(19%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 6/11/2018
by Anonymous
Madison, WI
Overall Rating
Just what i needed for a commute that has a couple of miles of gravel trails.

Tread seems to be wearing very little. Happy with my purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
3000 miles without a flat

I recently replaced a set of Marathon Plus tires that were on a tandem for 3 years. I rode partially on gravel and probably had close to 3000 miles on the set without a flat. Unfortunately, one of the new tires had a sidewall blow-out after 100 miles, presumably due to a manufacturing defect. BikeTiresDirect replaced the tire immediately with zero hassle. Great service. I'd give the tires 5 stars, were it not for the blowout.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy and strong

Well what would you expect for a heavy tire with a big hurkin thickness like a car tire. PUNCTURE resistant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2018
by David
Mesa, AZ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great ride feel

These tires ride real nice, no complaints, and no flats in the first month (300 miles).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Port Townsend, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far it's been great

I've only put few hundred miles on this tire, but it seems to live up to its billing. I mostly commute and part of my route has quite a bit of glass etc. and I've had no problems so far. Downside- price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2018
by geerussell
Casual Cyclist
Detroit, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product so far

I got a pair of 700 x 35s with my order being handled promptly and accurately. Out of the box the extra material and puncture resistance you pay a premium for doesn't take a scale to notice and my old tires felt lightweight and cheap by comparison.

Warnings about installation difficulty are mostly true. It took a few minutes to wrestle them on to the rims but this was accomplished with just two plastic tire levers for tools and now that I'm used to them it'll probably be smoother next time around. A small price to pay if they live up to the promise of fewer flats.

The tread rolls smoothly on pavement and overall they're a very comfortable ride with about 100 miles of rough and glass strewn street riding on them so far. While a final verdict has to wait until I see how the puncture resistance plays out over time the tires make a great first impression and I'd recommend them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by D W Miller
Casual Cyclist
Jacksonville, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tire

I ride a Specialized Crosstrail hybrid. I got the bike in 2011 and by now have logged over 20,000 miles on it using these tires. I have not had one flat. I ride almost exclusively on pavement, some trails and bike lanes on main roads. These tires have performed flawlessly. I highly recommend these tires (I also use only Michelin A3 Protek Max tubes). I am 73 years old and hate getting flats (which, in years previous, have had many).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2017
by pmarty
Daily Commuter
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tire

I have rode about 200 miles with these tires so far. They are a great fit to my commuting rides. Most of my commute is on roadhighway shoulder, with a lot of debris (gravel, metallic parts, broken glass from wreck etc), typical from the Atlanta suburb roads, sometimes I need to ride on sidewalks or grass as well. I was riding 700x23 before and struggled to avoid flat tires, so I needed an extra strong tire that would fit on my road bike. Those tires are exactly this. The combination of thick resistance and low pressure (I put 5 bars), makes them very robust. This is a faster alternative to riding my moutain bike for this commute.

The downside is performance of course the grip and low pressure are not comparable to 700x23, and they are a bit rough to install (due to the thickness). But again I needed puncture resistance and the flexibility to ride on anything when safety dictates it, so all in all I give it 5 stars as it does the job suberbly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2018
by PJW
Cycling Enthusiast
New Yoe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent quality touring tires

Good performance bearing in mind they are the 38c version. I read a lot of reviews about the difficulty of fitment but I got them on in less than five minutes and found them easier than some of the lightweight tires with Kevlar beads I use on my other bike. All in a great tire for touring or rough urban roads. I have t taken them too far off the pavement but they are fine on gravel bike paths.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2018
by multi biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Toledo, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Multipurpose tire for all around riding.

Tire rides well and provides additional traction over a treadless road tire. Usable three seasons. Tire is heavy but I have not noticed it while road riding. Very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Venice, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The tire holds up much better than any other tire I have tried.

I ride 140 miles a week . These tires hold up and are punture resistant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
WA State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Use on my touring bike. Loaded I am 275 lbs with me, bike and gear. Ride these tires in 35's. They roll out, handle the load and pretty much anything the road throws at them. Have ridden hotdry and coolwet. Reliable grip for cornering under load. Touring tire that exceeds expectation. Road debris is not much of an issue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2018
by glenner
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire at a great price!

I have been buying these for years. I get great mileage from them and they offer good puncture protection. I highly recommend them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2018
by Saumacus
Chicago
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My most favorite tire

I've been using Schwalbe Marathons on every bicycle I own for the last 10 years and expect to ride on them for as long as I can ride )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well made tire that evokes confidence

The Schwalbe Marathon is excellent tire which appears very well made.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2018
by friedpenguin
Daily Commuter
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
All weather all year all the time commuter tire

Obviously not your light training, trail, or racing tires. This are commuter through and through. Long wearing, tough as nails, hard as hell to put on, but good for mile after mile reliability. Reflective side walls another plus for commuters. Perfect in the rain too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2018
by Moose
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago-West Suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good winter tire for wet and slushy conditions.

I wanted a tire that would give more security and confidence in winter conditions in the upper mid-west. During the rest of the year I'm using Schwalbe Durano Plus tires 700 X 25. The extra volume of the Marathon Plus, the lower pressure requirements and the larger tread contact patch give me more assurance in my winter biking. With the long life of these tires, it will be a long time before I have to buy another set. Good tire... buy some.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2017
by Coop.
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakhurst, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, great and quick service with an actual human being to help me get what I needed!

I use a 45 MM tire for cross country cycling which is hard to find in any brand! It took only five minutes to get my order together and a few days to get possession of it and get me on the road!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2014
by Fire Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tire Touring

I seldom write reviews but I felt it necessary for a superior product. I purchased a set of Schwalbe Marathon tires about two months ago. I must admit when the bike tech recommended these tires I was doubtful & put off by the price. I've put 300 miles on these tires and they look like the day I installed them. I see no signs of wear and the rubber nibs (even on the center of the tire) are not wearing. I ride on pavement but do encounter some debris, I haven't had any flat tires & traction is excellent in all conditions. I inflate the tires 2-3 psi less than the recommended maximum pressure of 85 psi & get a reasonably smooth & comfortable ride. If the tires are inflated to 75 psi the ride is very smooth. I can't say enough good about these tires. I would buy these tires again & again for touring & commuting. This is one great bicycle tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2014
by george
Competitive Racer
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
best commuting tire for the worst commute

I live, commute and train in the Boston Area, I'm not joking when I say my commute is almost entirely pot holes and broken glass (3 miles) and I have about 5 miles of that to get out of the city to get to decent training roads. The Schwalbe's have never let me down. I average about 1400 commuting miles each year and I seriously have NEVER had a single puncture with these tires until they start to get old and dry and that usually takes about 3-4 years. I commute every single day, rain, snow or terrorists since 1991 and these are the by far the best tires I've ever ridden. my only complaint is that they run big The 700x25 doesnt even come close to fitting on my road bike. I rated them a 5 on the steal scale because even though they are expensive they reliably last along time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.