FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Pirelli Cinturato Tubeless Road/Gravel 700c Tire

PirelliCinturato Tubeless Road/Gravel 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(63%)
(13%)
(13%)
(0%)
(13%)
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Eugene C.
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
First Impressions Good

Pirelli Cinturato Velo TLR tires are what I consider the first performance all-season tubeless tire out of the Hutchinson factory. Thats right, these are made for Pirelli (with their own rubber compound) in France by Hutchinson. Other tires out of that factory include, but are not limited to Zipp Tangente Speed RT25RT28, Mavic Yksion Pro UST, and of course Hutchinsons own Fusion 5 11Storm line. They are all similar and very good.

Pay no attention to 1-star review stating these dont hold air. Yes, without sealant most tubeless tire and rim combinations will see slow leaks out tiny gaps between the tire bead and rim bead hook. With 40mL of Orange Seal and a few fast spins to get enough centripetal force to coat the tire, these tires are holding air as well as any tubeless-ready tire would...between 2-3psi of air loss a day at typical tire pressures.

While the other tires I mentioned are similar, the Cinturatos are definitely a little beefier. They are much stiffer tires to manipulate by hand than because they are the only tire with a real puncture belt beneath the tread layer. I weighed a 28mm tire at 338g...the claimed weight is 350g. On a wide 21mm Zipp NSW, the 28mm tire actually measures 29.5-30.5mm depending on tire pressure,

Ride quality is good for an all-season tire with puncture protection down the center. The Cinturatos do not have extra sidewall protection, but tubeless sidewalls are generally pretty tough already.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for almost all purposes

I bought these tires to replace Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless tires. Those tires are great for racing but I had bad luck with flatscuts when I used them for training. So far these Pirelli Cinturato Tubeless are working well. Mounting them took a little more effort than lighter weight tires but was not overly difficult. Upon mounting, the tires did lose pressure quickly until the sealant filled in around the bead, now the tires are holding air very well! I will be interested to see how long these tires last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Desert Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Mounting challenge

Haven't ridden it yet, but mounted it yesterday. It was a challenge! Though the tire went on the rim easily and without levers, getting the beads to seat was difficult. Couldn't get the bead pre-seated all the way around. Definitely requires taking valve stem out of the valve and definitely requires a compressor. Once seated, some leakage was evident. However, once the sealant was swished around inside the wheel, the leaks between the bead and rim were sealed. I'm looking forward to riding it and hope the durability and ride quality warrant the work it took to get it mounted.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great for training

I bought these as an alternative to gatorskins. Everyone raves about gatorskins but I'm not a fan of their lack of grip and unpredictable feeling. These are a lot closer to a race tire in terms of grip but provide good protection. I'm a few months in and no nicks or anything in the tires. I ride almost every day and often chip and seal roads or through a large city with tons of glass.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2018
by Dominic
Southern Oregon
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great grip, supple ride for a 4-season

Like the P-Zero 4S, but not enough sidewall protection. Running the Cinturato tubeless and enjoying the ride and the tread-wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
NOT a tubeless tire in any sense

There is absolutely no way these can be considered tubeless. Ive been running tubeless tires (Hutchinson & Schwalbe) for some ten years on dedicated Fulcrum Racing Two Way Fit rims without any issue. They all hold air at least reasonably well, perhaps losing 5 pounds overnight (no sealant). These Pirelli's (28C), while mounting easily on the rim, and the bead sealing easily with a compressor, go from 75 psi to completely flat within a half hour. This is entirely unacceptable for a tubeless tire, and may well account for the pair reviewed by Velonews May 28, 2018 (and inspiring my purchase) having been supplied by Pirelli with tubes in them - Pirelli must have known the tires would quickly go flat otherwise. Calling these a tubeless tire is completely misleading. No amount of added sealant would make these a tubeless tire. I'm not going to even try, and I don't want to run them with tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2019
by SacTony
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire - feels like a light race tire, but is ready for any surface.

Id read early reviews saying this was a good ride, but also complaints that it didnt hold air and was hard to mount. I mounted them on DT Swiss Spline 24 rims using Stanss Notubes rim tape and 3 oz. of Stans standard sealant and have had zero problems, and no pressure loss, even over a two week layoff for that bike. The ride and handling have exceeded my expectations. A great all-road tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Slice pretty easily.

Roll slowly on the road and have had multiple punctures. They usually seal. Some have required a plug. Okay training tire. Could be more durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.