FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Pearl Izumi Mens P.R.O. Escape Bib Shorts

Pearl IzumiMen's P.R.O. Escape Bib Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(9)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(59%)
(31%)
(7%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/25/2018
by Captjamo
Pensacola, FL
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Stunning Comfort. Chamois, not so Much

I moved from my very comfortable PI. Elite bibs to these. I think the reviewers were correct in saying these bibs are comfortable, even luxurious feeling. The comfort level of these bib shorts is ridiculously good. You honestly feel like you are wearing nothing. The straps are like velvet and after a minute of having them on you simply do not know they are there. But, describing all this comfort brings me to the topic of support. The material is so light and comfortable I think it does give up at least a small degree of compression capability and feeling of supportiveness. The chamois is disappointing. It feels like one singular density and not the nicely layered density foam PI is known to have pioneered and put forth in their upper lines of shorts. The singular density feels like simple latex foam cut about 58 inch thick and compresses too easily. Its as though they built such a great bib short they had to cut design cost somewhere and they chose to save money by using plain foam rubber in the chamois. It does kind of glue you to the saddle more than it should or would with a trimmer more layered chamois. It is, however, sewn in the short with very good tucked placement with a very soft liner material. All that said, I believe there will be some that will find this chamois works fine for them. Im a bull in the saddle and, thusly, it does not work well for me. I will still wear these shorts as they are so good in every other way besides the not so good chamois, but I will look for other PI shorts or other brands that have the more layered chamois I look for in a bib short.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2018
by bicyclek
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works great on the bike

While the chamois felt huge at first, once on the bike they worked great. The chamois also seemed to stay drier.

The bibs were also a bit snug on the boys, but felt ok while riding. I would consider them the best shorts I've ever owned and would give them a 5 star if it wasn't so snug down below.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Stem
Cycling Enthusiast
Fredericksburg
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pearl Izumi BIB Shorts

The last pair I purchased, the shoulder straps stained by jersey. After a few rinses got the bleeding to stop. This was my third pair and the first time this happened, will rinse before wearing the next time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2018
by Jmb9101
Virginia
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good overall fit and materials spoiled by terrible chamois

Ive been a long-time user of PI P.R.O. bibs, but this updated version is a bust. The chamois is way too thick, it bunches up, and it makes me squirm around on the saddle to keep it in position. Prior chamois were anatomically shaped, and stayed tight to your skin, allowing you to move freely. This version feels like Dependz (decades before Im supposed to know what that feels like). Not sure why the redesign, but Im looking at other brands for the first time in years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2018
by FLVJ
Competitive Racer
North FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Sorry I waited so long!

I ride every day, year round (live in FL) and have many pairs of shorts. Just got around to trying these and I am very pleased. Bought a second pair, and am waiting for the next sale to buy a third!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great quality and very comfortable

Usually go for long rides bibs very comfortable will be buying more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2018
by Anonymous
TN
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent quality

Top of line PI bins. Found on sale. I especially liked the quality of the fabric.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2018
by beachbiker52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and supportive

These are very supportive. They fit a little snug but are comfortable on the ride. I've only worn twice so far, but they appear to be well made with no seams rubbing in the wrong places. I would recommend these. My only reservation is I'm not sure they are that much better than modelsbrands less expensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2018
by MJarizona
Cycling Enthusiast
Queen Creek AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
What I've been looking for

It's all about the chamois! After trying a number of different manufacturers over the past few years it has become obvious to me that the chamois makes or breaks a pair of bibs. My personal conclusion is to spend a few extra dollars for an improved ride due to the comfort of the chamois (even for the same brand as I have tried cheaper PI bibs).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2017
by John
Vancouver
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Really good chamois

I purchased these for a long ride. Have always bought good quality bibs in the past but never Pearl Izumi. Very impressed with the quality and construction and the chamois. My ride was 550 miles in 6 days and i was having problems with my saddle. They were my go to bibs for the longest days. I will purchase these from now on!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by BOBC
Cycling Enthusiast
HOUSTON, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
DID NOT LIKE THE CHAMOIS OR THE FRONT PANEL ON THE NEW PRO BIB SHORTS

PREFERED THE ELITE ESCAPE CHAMOIS AND DID NOT LIKE THE FRONT PANEL ON THESE.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2018
by AZbugphd
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
What I've been looking for

I have previously used a few different brands of lesser quality bibs. As my mileage has increased I found that they no longer provided the comfort I needed for longer time in the saddle. The P.R.O. Escape bibs were great from the beginning. Of highest importance was the fact that the chamois stayed in place and with its top layer moisture is wicked away. Have since purchased another pair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2017
by Andyboman
southeast Alaska
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent bibs

I love these bibs, they are my go to for all rides. Recently used them on back to back century rides, and they rocked. I already ordered another pair. They fit very true to size with plenty of stretch in the suspenders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi Men's P.R.O. In-R-Cool Bib Short
Reviewed 7/21/2016
by Doug
Daily Commuter
Ketchum, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Long term review

I have been riding with these in my rotation for 2 years now. I'm 6' 180 lbs and The L fits me nicely. Compared to other bibs these rise up a much higher in the front, on me about 3 above my navel. The straps are comfortable and the chamois is good for multi-hour rides. I've noticed the stitching coming loose around the chamois at the lowest point where the saddle edges hit the inner thigh, doesn't seem to affect the fit though. My only gripe with these is the sticky dots used to secure the legs have turned hard over time and they irritate my legs for the first few miles. I always wash in cold water and always hang dry, 2 pairs and they both have this problem with hardened gel leg gripper dots after about a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi Men's P.R.O. In-R-Cool Bib Short
Reviewed 12/29/2015
by Jim
Competitive Racer
Arden, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Almost Perfect

I have been huge fan of Pearl for twenty-five years. My only complaint has been their frequent re-sizing of the product line. For years I wore XLs in all their higher end bibs, tights, knickers, and jerseys. Then somewhere along the line they started upsizing for us fatter Americans. I was told by one of their inside reps that they now size their highest end P.R.O. line a little smaller closer to Euro sizing, but not as small as, say, Castelli or Giordana. I am 6'1 about 182-185lbs and these bibs fit me really well in XL. The pad is fabulous. My only quibble is that they are a tad short for my long legs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi Men's P.R.O. In-R-Cool Bib Short
Reviewed 9/15/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable

I used these shorts to ride 2 centuries and LOTOJA this year. The pad is awesome. I've tried lots of bibs for long rides, and these are my absolute favorites.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Tandem
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver
Overall Rating
Very comfortable

Its been years since Ive worn PI bibs. Ive been making excuses for being uncomfortable in the shorts that Ive been wearing recently. Too hot! No chamois cream, etc. No more! I can now do 30 and 40 mile rides, and Im comfortable. PI discourages the use of chamois cream. I was skeptical, but I am comfortable without it. The cuffs stay in place also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Still a Pearl Izumi fan...

No sore spots, very comfortable. Cut a bit high in front but thats a small issue

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2018
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL
Overall Rating
Nice looking and well made!

I purchased one and liked it so well that I bought two more. I should have waited. The chamois is so thick that it is uncomfortable when out of the saddle. With solid straps they are also a little warm

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2018
by Tarquin
LA
Overall Rating
Very good but thick chamois

This is overall a great bib with nice materials and comfort my only small issue is the thickness of the chamois itself. Much thicker than Im used to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.