Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Panaracer GravelKing SS Plus 700c Tire

PanaracerGravelKing SS Plus 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(71%)
(14%)
(10%)
(5%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jeff

Reviewed 2/10/2024
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire for urban and paved trail riding

I replaced a set of stock WTB Riddlers with these, because I wanted better flat resistance. I ran both with tubes.

I was surprised that despite being less knobby than the Riddlers, they felt very slightly slower. Traction in the wet is good, I'm never nervous about cornering fairly fast in the rain. No flats so far in about 500 miles of riding rough city streets and paved trails. If they hold up well, I'll definitely buy these again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chuck

Reviewed 10/4/2023
by Chuck
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continue with Gravelkings?

Have used these tires for several years and generally have had great results. Riding consists of rural secondary roads with appx 2 in gravel very little paved roads. Stan's sealant. These are difficult to mount (currently running Bontrager Carbon wheels) initially. In the last year I've had what I would call tread separation issues. One tire developed a large bulge and when viewed from the inside you could see cord separation. When riding today (10-4) the tire felt like the wheel was out of alignment. Took it apart and the inside layer had separated from the casing! Currently running 45 psi in rear and 35 in front. I'm 200 lbs and get around 2000 mi/year both road and gravel. Both tires had about half tread left. Will probably give this brand one more try before trying something different. I'm giving a 4 star because up to these last two my results have been very good.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/9/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chatham NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Gravelking SS Plus- tried and true

Purchased the GK for the farmer's daughter gravel ride in upstate NY. Did the majority of my training on these as well. The GK SS+ has stood up well, no flats and no issues. I felt very confident on steep descents with these and they roll nicely on the flats. No- they didn't do well in the singletrack mud on the day of but not to sure what tire would have handeld deep mud that well. Can't say enough good about the durabilty, handling and value of these tires. My 3rd pair and will contiue going with these.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joel_CA

Reviewed 3/22/2023
by Joel_CA
Norcal
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires overall, but impossible to seat

Even with my floor pump with an airblast tank, these 38c tires will not seat on the stock rims of my 22 Revolt Advanced 2 unless I remove the valve core. Of course, once aired and seated, the beads will immediately unseat once the tire deflates after I remove the pump to quickly reinstall the core. The only way I've gotten them to seat with the core in place is with a CO2 cartridge. Because of this, I always carry 4 cartridges with me on all of my rides. Aside from that, these tires are great. Fast rolling on the road and excellent on tightly packed gravel /dirt - which is primarily where I'll ride them. I've ridden close to 1000 miles on this set and have had only 1 puncture in the rear, that sealed itself. After nearly 1000 miles, the treat still looks almost new.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim D

Reviewed 6/14/2022
by Jim D
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Nice for the road.

I have these mounted on my Giant Revolt, which I use for road riding, and at the most, packed smooth gravel. On the road, they are exceptional. They roll nicely, and are quiet. I started at 60 psi, and rode that pressure for the first season. After deciding that my ride would improve with less pressure, I gradually backed them down to 40 psi (with tubes), and noted no drop in average speed. I consider the gravel bike my "SUV" and ride it more on the road, than any other bike I own. A great bike for early season rides when there is a lot debris on the road. These tires really work well, considering my use. I would buy again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rocky

Reviewed 5/30/2023
by Rocky
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire

Seems to roll excellent. Doesn't throw rocks like the SK versions do. Flings mud off easily. No problems with flat issues. The tread seems to wear well. Me: 185 lbs and run 38 psi. I usually average 12-13 mph. I use Orange Seal endurance sealant and put 50cc in a 43 mm tire. I'm no racer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Billy

Reviewed 4/17/2023
by Billy
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great on road, good on light gravel

I bought the Gravelking SS+ for efficiency on the road and hard pack and for .puncture resistance. For those I am completely satisfied. It�s a bit squirrelly on loose gravel which, unfortunately, describes my half mile long driveway.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by The Mule

Reviewed 3/30/2023
by The Mule
Orange County, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic Tires for all conditions

I purchase a set and a spare for our Southern Tier Tour across the US. They have taken quite a beating and stood the test. We're riding our Comotion Tandem with panniers and pulling a Yakima Big Tow trailer. They've rolled over so much debris, pouring rain, and a few miles of dirt roads as well, and barely show any wear!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Babooski

Reviewed 8/21/2023
by Babooski
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good on the road�.and light gravel

I bought this tire for primarily road riding on my Lauf Seigla gravel bike. It did not disappoint. On a descent I roll out with the road bikes with road tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/29/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Puncture prone

These are slick tires and still provide good grip for my gravel bike that mostly sees pavement. But they advertise puncture resistance. That's just not true. Riding on pavement today I experienced a puncture that sealed up within a minute. The only problem is that the pressure won't hold above 30 psi now.

I bought Gravelking because I heard they were the best. I was replacing my Maxxis tires that had over 3000 miles on them with no issues other than the tread was getting noticeably thin. I'm only 300 miles or so on these and I wish I stayed with Maxxis.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BASH

Reviewed 12/5/2022
by BASH
Casual Cyclist
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent gravel tires

Huge upgrade over the stock tires on my Giant Contend AR.

Super supple but they seem pretty tough too.

They roll nice on pavement, with good grip on dirt roads.

A great choice if you want something a little less aggressive than the SK.

My only regret is not getting the brown sidewalls. Next time for sure.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/8/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Ok

Tried these after riding schwalbe g-one in hope of better stability in turns, cant say i have it. I feel much more slippage in climbs and bounciness with the 43 size. I am 160 lbs and ride g-one at about 35 psi, ride mostly packed dirt. Also really hard to get them to seat vs g-one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gravelor

Reviewed 6/21/2021
by Gravelor
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Nice rolling and puncture resistance

Fast rolling tire on hard pack gravel, pavement. It seems to have good puncture resistance so far on my rides of many many miles on all kind of gravel terrains. It's a bit hard to sit it for tubless. But can be done for sure.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dking1525

Reviewed 8/9/2021
by dking1525
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
35c fast smooth & durable

For the volume (35c) this is a really good choice, fast rolling 5/5, supple 5/5, durable 4/5.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 3/8/2021
by Dave
Seattle
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid mixed surface tire

Using them for gravel, pavement and rough road shoulders. Not the gravel gripper that my SKs are but smooth rolling and comfortable ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alex

Reviewed 12/20/2020
by Alex
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great buy

Got these for a gravel bike that would still be fast on the roads. Great traction on dirt and even some snow. Look great too. Highly recommend

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 12/4/2020
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Ok
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
nice tire

Nice tire so far. I got 38mm, they measure 39.5 on my wheels. They roll a little better on the pavement that the last tires I had. Mounted easily with a pump with the tubeless booster on it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jaxx71

Reviewed 10/24/2022
by Jaxx71
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
GravelKing PLUS!

These tires have been nothing but great. I've put over 1200 miles on them with one flat, one! I do a lot of urban riding from bike paths, hard packed dirt, gravel and a lot of street. Again urban riding with the most miles on the streets where there are so many thing where flats are common from anyway. The ware is excellent on these tires with the semi-smooth center. Can't say enough about how great these tires are.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/7/2022
by Anonymous
Atlanta Metro
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires!

Bought these to replace the OEM tires on my Giant Defy. Good tread, but not too �gravelly,� a good compromise for my pavement riding with occasional gravel paths. Took some doing to mount tubeless, I finally got them seated.

Recommended!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/8/2022
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Better than expected

Normally don't spend this much on tires but decided to give these a try. Installed on my cx singlespeed and greatly improved road ride quality. I highly recommend these for those that do a fair amount of on road riding.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]