Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Ortlieb Back-Roller Pannier Set

OrtliebBack-Roller Pannier Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(89 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(82)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/7/2018
by Anonymous
Glendale
Overall Rating
Awesome

Love otrlieb working great so far..biketiresdirect was fast and easy to deal with..top notch...I'll be buying a new bike and will be ordering from here when I need something..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BaylorBoi

Reviewed 12/21/2017
by BaylorBoi
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
PERFECT accessory for commuting in rainy climates

Can carry way more than you need (towel, work clothes, laptop and files), keeping them dry and protected from the elements. I shopped extensively, evaluated many different manufacturers and this was the best.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rick

Reviewed 12/8/2017
by Rick
NY
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great build quality and stylish design.

Read reviews and watched many you tube videos and very happy i decided to purchased these bags.

I do lots of camping and its important to keep dry and i always stow my things in dry backpack or bags.

So this pannier was perfect.

Easy set up and stylish look , recieving complements at market while shopping.

Only thing i would suggest to Ortlieb is to put a few rubber buttons on bottom of bags for protection when placing on ground.

Very Happy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/2/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Duh its ortlieb btd was great

Bike tires direct sent my panniers fast and safe the panniers have been amazing as you would expect from ortieb..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/7/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Worth it..

The quality is exceptional. I was tempted to buy something cheaper, but now that I have my first Ortlieb product I'm glad I didn't. The superior quality is obvious. I have loaded this pair with 30 pounds of gear, and they worked flawlessly. They hold a lot of stuff, they don't leak, and I have no worries about them tearing or ripping. I believe they will last for many years. You get what you pay for, and even though these are expensive, they're worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rickroy915

Reviewed 12/7/2020
by rickroy915
Daily Commuter
Orlando
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Panniers for long haul and groceries

Ortlieb is the go to for panniers....

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great for short and long bike trips

I can pack my one person tent, sleeping bag and the rest of my camping gear in these. I biked during some rain and everything stayed dry.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by schrapnel

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 2/27/2014
by schrapnel
Cycling Enthusiast
Renton, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Hard to beat

Some other panniers come close, but you just can't go wrong with the flexibility of the Ortlieb mounting system and the bulletproof materials.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 6/23/2013
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks like the Real Deal

Just moved to Bellingham, WA. Wanted to be ready for rainy commuting, shopping, etc. These bags appear to be tough, well-constructed and water proof. Once you figure out the mounting system (no directions) get them adjusted for your rack, they are a snap to mount and dismount. Look to be an excellent choice.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rainy Commuter

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by Rainy Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Bainbridge Island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great value and well suited for its purpose.

There is a reason why these bags are the standard bearing here in the Pacific Northwest. The bags are waterproof and thoughtfully designed to mount to your racks. After you have made the switch from panniers from backback you will wonder why you did not do so sooner.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 8/6/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Commuter Bags

These panniers are very well built. The are waterproof, visable and easy to take on and off the back rack. The bags come with a carry strap but I have not used that yet. Typically, they just stay on the bike.

I can fit my small briefcase with a laptop inside. There is a side pocket and a zippered side pocket for your id and other small things. I simply put my briefcase in the bag and that's it. If I need to bring more stuff to work I put the second pannier on and fill it.

I would buy this again

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by fluidj

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 7/26/2012
by fluidj
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect light weight & waterproof storage solution for commuters!

I commute via bike and these bags are just what I was looking for. Stylish, lightweight, waterproof and FUNCTIONAL. The attachment mechanism is sturdy and keeps the bags from rattling around. The mechanism is also easy to use and not cumbersome and clunky like others I've tried. The roll top closure is very conducive to packing efficiently. The reflectors are a great safety feature.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 6/14/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
There's a reason they're called classic

From my observations it seems that are the standard commuter panniers in the soggy city of Portland, and for good reason. They're durable, waterproof (I've not had a leak in 3 months of commutingrunning errands with them), large enough for the things that come up in life, and look nice to boot. They're super adjustable as far as getting them to fit on your bike rack, and I like that I could adjust them backwards so they clear my big feet (even with a long touring bike my heels still kick panniers). The provided shoulder straps are great if you regularly run with them into stores or have a long walk (or the bike - public transportation - bike type commute). Worth the expense if you're serious about transporting your things.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Golfwheels

Reviewed 2/2/2024
by Golfwheels
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL
Overall Rating
Great product!

These panniers were an upgrade from a cheaper REI double sided one that I used for a while. I found my old set wasn't keeping my clothes dry (I primarily use these for commuting) on rainy days and wanted a set I could use not only for commuting but bikepacking down the road. These are everything they say they are and then some. Very simple fool proof system for attaching to all of my bikes (a commuter gravel bike and a fat tire bike). They transfer easily due to the simplicity of the latch system. Also, the latch system is super durable. The material is extremely durable; it's sustained a couple decent wipeouts with minimal damage and is completely waterproof. Not a drop of water gets in. I kayak as well and the design is similar to my kayaking dry bags. The volume of material they hold is a huge upgrade as well. I'm able to fit everything I need for daily commuting in 1 of the bags. Great purchase, simple design and looking forward to years of heavy use out of these.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TonyG

Reviewed 10/21/2022
by TonyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy Off and On, Stays Dry

Great saddlebags so far - durable, easy to get on and off the rack.

The saddlebags proved themselves today with the first ride in a real rainfall.

Outside of the bag got plenty wet, but surface only - no soaking in, and the contents stayed completely dry.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mbqhappy

Reviewed 1/5/2024
by mbqhappy
Cycling Enthusiast
San Juan, PR
Overall Rating
Why reinvent the wheel.

It is the opinion of so many that Ortlieb brand is trustworthy, reliable and the go to products when it comes to choosing amongst the many options in the market. Save yourself the guest work and without hesitation choose ORTLIEB like I did and so many others.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by COMOBiking

Reviewed 7/30/2022
by COMOBiking
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbia, MO.
Overall Rating
Everything you need in a pannier

I purchased the Ortlieb Pannier for an up coming bike ride across the entire Katy Trail. I am using the pannier bags each and every time that I bike ride because I can carry everything I need like bug spray, sunscreen, extra water and so on with a lot of space left. The pannier bags are easy to attach to my bike rack and easy off too. I have purchased the Ortlieb Rack Pack to go along with the Ortlieb Panniers for my big bike ride later this fall on the Katy Trail!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chaznw

Reviewed 8/31/2023
by chaznw
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Overall Rating
Well made sturdy paneers. These will be perfect for my upcoming tour of the OTET trail

I like the waterproof construction, ease of attaching them to my rack and ample volume.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/8/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Pannier lasts approximately 3 years of daily use.

After 3 years of daily use the pannier is only suitable for use in dry weather (holes forming at corners and folds). Not a bad run, I bought a new set to use in the rain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chuck

Reviewed 8/26/2021
by Chuck
Cycling Enthusiast
ROCHESTER, NY
Overall Rating
Great First Trip

Just starting in bike touring. Packed panniers for a long trip but only riding two days. Lots of room, easy to install and remove as needed. The ride was much rougher than expected but no problems with the panniers. (Not so much with my arms). No rain to contend with but lots of dust and my gear stayed clean. Will try on longer trip soon. Highly recommended!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]