FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Michelin Wild RunR Light 26 Inch Tire

MichelinWild Run'R Light 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/24/2016
by Jason
Corpus christi, tx
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for a converted mountain bike

I use this tire on my daily rider that i go to and from work on. Its a great roller and lasts a long time. I have had them for two years. While i dont do anything but ride to and from work, i do have to ride through some grass and stickers on one section. A liner or some green slime and i have never had a problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2016
by bobdavisnpf
Casual Cyclist
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Product exactly as described and working perfectly

Looking for the lightest possible 26 wheeltire combo, I found the Wild Run'r to be an exceptional find. I bought 3 expecting to go through them pretty quick, but 1 year and a few hundred miles later they are holding strong and in excellent shape. Traction is much better than expected, including in rain. Stopping power is as good as I need.

I use this tire for street commuting, with minimal trail or gravel but the usual exposure to broken glass etc. Overall weight (bike, rider, load) is typically 190-210 lb. With my crank-forwaed frame carrying 70% of the weight on the rear wheel this tire is holding up to an impressive 140-150 lb!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good fit high quality tire

Well constructed and good fit. Rolls like a dream.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2014
by SFGeezer
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Racing tires for 26 wheels

I put these on my mountain bike rims when I found that I was doing most of my riding on roads and wanted to keep up with friends on skinny tire bikes. They have done fine. I am still worried about flats from glass but haven't had any in spite of running over quite a bit of it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2013
by Michigan Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires I have used

This is the first review I have ever done. I have been riding recumbents for over 15 years. Purchased these because the positive comments. I put these on my Rans Formula 26 before a 350 mile tour in Michigan. They were flawless. Responsive and fast. Increased my average speed by 2 mph

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2013
by dennis f
Cycling Enthusiast
new england
Value Rating
Overall Rating
nice and lite for my road wheel set up for my Raleigh Tomac replica

using them on a spare set of magic 517/chris king wheels for occasional road rides with my Raleigh Tomac replica men bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2012
by K. Fitzhugh
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire for use on 26 recumbent wheels.

This is a phenomenal tire for use on recumbents. I recently bought this tire for the rear wheel of my Haluzak Horizon, short wheelbase recumbent, and it is by far the best 26 tire that I have used. Spend the extra money for the light version with the folding kevlar bead. It is extremely light and gives a very responsive and fast ride. The tread is very sticky and tough. Very impressive for such a light tire. Only has an 87 psi max rating but it is very hard at 87psi. I find 75 psi gives a good balance of comfort and performance. I prefer this tire over the 26 Continental GrandPrix and Sport Contact, the Primo Racer, the Kenda Kwest and the Schwalbe Kojack or Durano. Also the kevlar bead was easy enough to fit on rim with my bare hands with no tire levers required. The rubber compound is hard enough and dense enough that it should last a while as well. Very happy with this Michelin tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great road tire!!!

Great tire for road riding with a mountain bike. Much lower rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2012
by Alex
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Go further with less effort

I got these tires to do a 55 mile run with my buddies for the NYC Century ride. The local bike shop was telling me to go with at least 1.5 tire. But the weight of the tire sold me - 200 grams. These tires have virtually no roll resistance. On the first long weekend I rode 90 miles in 3 days with no punctures. Of course, you have to watch where you going because they are are so thin to avoid sidewall puncture, but it is expected. On my old Kenda 2.1 tires I hardly ventured to a 15 mile run at a time, plus the buzzing tire noise at high speeds. My average speed on new tires has increased drastically and I am peddling with less effort and they make no noise whatsoever since there is no thread. Also, when you put these on, bike is going to look little funny with thin tires on, but after a while you will not care.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2012
by Eye Doctor at Alcon Research
Cycling Enthusiast
ir
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Transform old hardtail MTB into decent road bike.

Fast tires at 120 psi.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2012
by wings4u
North of Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great urban tire

Great inner city tire. I have them on two Mt bikes set up as urban run abouts. So far everything has been fine. I ride them on the edge of sanity 85lbs pressure.I know

1.1 tire width will cause some to pause with concern, don't let that number trip you up from buying these tires. I replaced both sets of 26x1.6 with the 1.1 and the ride was much more responsive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2011
by QuantumXL
Cycling Enthusiast
Sound Beach, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for a 26 mountain bike to a 26 commuter

These tires are intimidating at first and they sort of scared me to buy them. I had a problem because I read a review that they are as thin as ice and thorns-rocks puncture the inner tube easily. So I took many precautions before actually purchasing these tires. Do keep in mind that these are for the advanced 1.1 wild run'r tires. My mountain bike was running full out 2.125x26 Kenda nobbies 3x5 speed and double brakes. I completely stripped down the frame and clear coated it and made it a 1.1 Michelin Wild Run'r 1x8 speed and single brake. 18mm x 700cc Tube liner was used (just overlayed a little more inside of the tube).

These tires run WELL. I had these pumped up to 90 PSI (I am a fairly heavier individual around 220 lbs) and these roll with literally no rolling resistance. Downhill, I nearly didn't have any gears left (32T up front and 11T in back). I had to change the gearing after a while because I was traveling so fast. A 42T was thrown on the front to have the happy medium between a 53T and a 32T. Anyways, the gearing is perfect.

I was worried about the tires fitting the wheels, however, the tires fit perfectly on the wheel. Just gotta make sure that the bead catches the edge of the wheel. A 1.2-1.5 inner tube worked just fine, just make sure there is no pinching between the tire and the wheel and that it is fully tucked in.

Besides that the wheel is perfect. It is a little expensive, but you pay for the weight, and these are super light. Get these if you want slicks. Everyone spends money on things that have patterns when they can just get these with nearly 0 rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2011
by Richard Harris
Competitive Racer
Baton Rouge, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 30 customers found this review helpful.
The Absolute Best 26 Road Tire Available

I love my Mt bike (an 80's American-made GT Avalanche) and sold my 2009 $6000 Tour De France ready Cervelo S3 I had built for the Senior Olympics when I discovered I hate riding in a pace line. Right now I'm still riding my Mt wheelset (White hubs, Mavic 216 rims, Ti spokes), but I plan to eventually have 2 sets of wheels so I can just swap them out for road or dirt. I've been experimenting with tires to find the best road tires for serious road riding on my Mt bike. By serious, I mean I still want to be able to ride 30-50 mile rides in rolling hills and be competitive with road bikes. The Specialized Nimbus tires are great for road and light off-road duty, and Tioga City Slickers (1.0 tread) are what I've been using until now. These Michelin Wild Run'R Lights (1.1) are better than the Tiogas in every way. Their smooth tread means I no longer feel the rumbling from the tread of the Tiogas, giving a very smooth ride with low rolling resistance, and since it was lifted from the PRO 3's, they cut like a knife through turns, not wander like the Tiogas. The 200g weight, at least 14 pound or more less than other tires, is instantly noticeable as they accelerate much quicker and hold their speed. Suggested max inflation is only 87 psi, and that's for a heavy person, but I run them at 85 psi even though I only weigh 145. At first I didn't think this would be enough since I ran the Tioga's at 115 psi and all of my 700cm road tires at 120 psi or more, but I was wrong. They do all of the incredible things I've mentioned at that psi, and as a consequence, give a very comfortable ride, almost like a set of tubulars. I don't get anywhere near as beat up as I used to on my Cervelo (with Continental 4000S's for training and Vittoria Corsa CX tubulars for racing) or with the Tioga's on the GT. I'd like to thank Michelin from the bottom of my heart for considering that some people on Mt bikes still want to be competitive on the road and needed good tires to do it. You won't find a better tire anywhere. I can't comment on durability since I've only got about 100 miles on them, but I don't care, I'll replace them as needed because nothing else comes close. I just came back from a casual ride around the neighborhood and was easily riding 20 mph with a light tail wind and 18 mph into the head wind, with jumps into the mid 20's when I felt like it, and I'm way out of shape right now. These tires are the real deal. Now I just need to build my ultra-light road wheelset, and I'm going to enjoy really hacking off a lot of roadies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2011
by Richard Harris
Competitive Racer
Baton Rouge, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Compared to Continental Gran Prix

Hello Again,

I neglected to mention in my previous review that I also compared the Michelin Run'R Lights with Continental Gran Prix's, the only other serious contender in a 26 tire. The Gran Prix's don't match up to the Run'R's in several areas. First, they generate a fair amount of road noise. Other people I would ride with were always thinking a car was coming up behind us because of the noise, only to discover it was coming from the Gran Prix's, particularly annoying if you want to go for a quiet ride with your wife out in quiet, rural areas. That Black Chile tread compound is not only noisy but sticky as well. That may sound like a good thing, but to me it was like the tires were lightly glued to the road preventing them from rolling as easily as they should. If I stopped pedaling and started to coast on a flat road, you could immediately feel the tires start to slow down. I'd have to rate the rolling resistance as not good because of it. The stickiness also made the tires wander ever-so-slightly in turns, causing me to have to overcorrect to get them back on line. They are much heavier than the Run'Rs taking a lot more time to accelerate, more energy to keep at speed, and eventually, tiring you out much quicker because you have to constantly turn over a good deal more weight with every pedal rotation. I also think they aren't very durable as multiple flats were endured. All-in all, not very good, despite the fact that I loved the Continental 4000S's on my road bike (but still were noisy with Black Chile).

Somehow, Michelin hit every check-point I would have listed for a road tire regardless of size in the Run'R Lights. They are very light, handle extremely well, are comfortable, quiet, have very low rolling resistance, are fairly priced, and so far, are durable. They even mount easily enough that you almost don't have to use a tire tool, unlike to PRO 3's. I paired them with Continental Race Light tubes. If it sounds like tire Nirvana, it is. Get em', and get a bunch, and tell your friends so these tires never go out of production.

Sincerely,

Richard Harris

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2011
by Craig C
Casual Cyclist
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Great on a wheelchair

I come at this from a different angle as I use these on my wheelchair. I have been running on this tire for six months and they are wearing great and still grip just as well today as they did brand new. I love the slick tires on rainy days because they are easy to wipe clean before taking them off the chair to pull into the car or rolling into the house.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2010
by anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Whitestone, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
These are quick!!

Cheap and great quality.. They are nice and thin and stick even in the rain... When I was done riding last night I looked at the tires and they had pavment sticking to it.. very sticky on turns and grip very well to the road..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/31/2013
by Oakland Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not a sluggish tire....

I have used this product on long rides, like centuries where there may be 10 to 15 miles of dirt road. These tires are really light and responsive compared to a 1.4 inch slick that can feel sluggish on the road. The tires are not quite as forgiving as the larger tires, but if only 10 to 15 percent of your ride is on dirt, then the trade off for the very high quality road ride is worth the infrequent stability issues on the dirt. Overall very nice tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2013
by cyclotouriste
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing tire

I've been waiting for this tire for 11 years, and it's all I'd hoped for. It's the same construction as the ProRace 3, but in 26, and wider (28mm). Light, fast, and confident in the corners. It hasn't completely closed the gap between the performance of my 26 wheeled bike and my 700c bike, but it has substantially narrowed it. Only gripes for a 26 tire, I'd prefer to see it a little wider (30-32mm), but this one does seem to mount a bit wider than the listed 28mm. Also, not the most flat resistant tire (though not bad by any stretch), but that's ALWAYS a trade off you have to make - supple construction means fast but not necessarily tough. It's just a calculation you have to make based on the conditions you ride in, and what your goals are. For my own part, I'm going to stock up on these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2012
by JD Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison WI
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
As good as it gets for a 26 inch mt. rim.

This tire is terrific! I recently replaced an older set of 1 14 inch Ritchey road tire with the Michelins. The tires are lighter, smoother riding and fast. A big improvement over the older tires. The amazing thing is the ride and road feel.

The bike is used as a commuter but it rides so well I take it on shorter country rides. They are that comfortable.

I have no complaints. At this point I don't know about the wear qualities since there are not enough miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.