FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Kucharik Long Sleeve Wool Jersey

KucharikLong Sleeve Wool Jersey(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(5)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(80%)
(11%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 5/7/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great jersey!

This is a great jersey, and good value. One slight complaint is that the torso is slightly longer than I would prefer, but otherwise fit is great all around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2014
by Hill-Pumper
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Still the best winter fabric

Wool is such a great winter jersey material, I'm not sure why we ever got away from using it. Sure, some of the new fabrics are lighter, but unless you are racing, wool will do just fine. This was my first experience with wool after trying the other stuff, and I won't be going back. These jerseys have three features which makes them stand out to me. First, they keep me warm in a wide range of temperatures and have been comfortable. I have ridden anywhere in the mid 20's to mid 50's with no problem. When coupled with my Showers Pass Elite jacket, I stay dry and warm. I do have to open up the zippers on each to adjust for the different temperatures, but nothing that I can't deal with. Second, it wicks away sweat better then anything else. I find this a big advantage when I have to stop for any length of time. Lastly, it does not stink after after you sweat in it. Also, it's nice to support an American company that is making an great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2018
by Anonymous
So Cal
Overall Rating
Wool is the best

I own three of the shirts. They are warm when it is cold yet comfortable if it warms up. Love them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2018
by jpluther
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, CA USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is a great winter jersey!

Soft wool. I wear three layers in the winter, a base, a wool jersey, and a shell. I found I can handle a wide range of temperatures with this combo. This is a great jersey. Alone it will let the wind blow through it, but with a shell it is super warm. I will get another one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2018
by Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is my second wool cycling jersey and it is the best ever in fit, feel and after washing.

I have an average build but I'm not a small man nor am I skinny. I need not have worried about the size because this jersey fit like it is supposed to. Love the red color, too. My last one was not nearly as nice as this merino wool and it shrunk after a few washings. This one is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2016
by Bill in Buffalo, WY
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, WY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I wasted my money on 2 of these jerseys

I do not see the point of this jersey! In my opinion, a long sleeved wool jersey is something that would be worn when the temperatures are cooler, without the need for anything over it or under it. By cooler I mean 50-60F.

A few hours ago I decided to go for a midnight bike ride. It was 60. And since it was midnight there was no sun to provide warmth. I had only the jersey on my upper torso. As I walked the 50' from my backdoor to my garage, I could feel the cool night air through the jersey. I didn't even consider getting on my bike with only this jersey. I knew that at 20 mph I would be uncomfortable wearing only the jersey. Therefore I went back inside and put a sweatshirt on over the jersey.

I live in Buffalo, WY. I ride year round. I do 1 to 2 hour rides, several times a week, in Dec. and Jan. when the temperatures are below 40. I.e. I know about riding in cooler andor cold conditions.

I own a couple of older, long sleeved wool jerseys. They are constructed of much heavier wool material.

When I received the package containing the 2 Kucharik jerseys from BTD, I thought to myself that the package felt very light, and perhaps that BTD had only sent 1 jersey instead of 2. But no, the package contained 2 jerseys.

Due to the light weight of the jerseys, I doubted that they would provide much warmth. But I decided to give the jerseys the benefit of the doubt. Tonight I concluded that my initial doubts were confirmed.

The only reason I could see for purchasing a Kucharik long sleeved wool jersey, is if one wanted a wool jersey, with long sleeves, so that the sleeves would protect one's arms from the sun's rays, during rides on warmer days.

I would not recommended these jerseys for rides on cooler days, unless one uses them as a base layer. But then there is no need for pockets on a base layer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2017
by Biglog
Daily Commuter
Midwest USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome jersey

I've had my wool jersey for three years and it's perfect for the winter commutes when the temperatures dip into the single digits. Since it is wool, which means it breathes, I wear it as a base layer and add a couple more layers to block the cold air. I'm 6'4, 230 and the extra large jersey fits fine. I love it so much I'm buying another as backup. While one dries, I wear the other.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2016
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Item

Great item, fits well, does not have the slept in a cat box smell after a ride. Wool cant be beat!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2015
by oceanhai
Cycling Enthusiast
Potomac, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great value for wool jersey

After spending a few months researching long sleeve wool cycling jersey's online and in stores I decided to go with this Kucharik jersey. The wool is thin and comfortable. I wear a medium t-shirt and the medium Kucharik fits me perfectly. You could easily pay 2-3 times as much for another brand wool jersey. I went with the Kucharik because it was reasonably priced, fits well and the pockets are easily accessible. My only minor complaint is that it isn't available in full zip (only half zip). I'll probably order another on in a different color as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2015
by SethK
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Would definitely buy again.

I purchased this jersey to wear on a tour in Great Britain, where I expected cold and rainy weather. The weather was even worse than I thought, and I wore this jersey for most of the six days of miserable weather we encountered in Scotland. It was heavy with rain or sweat (when worn under my rain shell) but kept me much warmer than I would have been in my normal technical fabric jerseys. I was only able to wash it once during those six consecutive days, but it never became smelly. When it was not raining, it kept me comfortable without the need for a top layer. Great jersey other than being heavier than what I am used to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2015
by ChiTownCyclist43
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Adequate Merino Wool Mid Layer

I live in Chicago and ride in a temperature range of about 35 degrees to 50 degrees in the winter. I have worn the Kucharik jersey over a base layer, and under my Gore Element Jersey during the coldest temps. The Merino wool performs as you would expect, it is warm and stays reasonably dry. Quality is good. I was not real happy with the sizing, though. I am 5'11 and have a 41 chest and I bought a Large, which originally seemed fine. It is comfortable in the neck, the arms are generous, and the length of the torso at the back seemed overly long, so I was pretty sure the XL would have been too big. After a few months of wear and washings, but never put in the dryer, always dried on a rack, it seems like the length of the torso, at the waist has really shrunk. It barely goes past my waist now, and I feel like I have to keep pulling on it to get it down where I want it, but then it pulls at the neck. The three rear pockets are so high now I can barely get my hand up high enough while reaching around to access them, although I don't ever use them. In my opinion the garment would be better without them, the double fabric caused by the pockets creates a hot spot. I would not recommend this one. I would try to find another Merino Wool jersey with a better fit, less shrinkage. An XL would be too baggy in the chest, and too long in the arms. Kucharik boasts less than 5% shrinkage, but I think it is more than that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2015
by Bike531
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Frontrange Foothills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice blast from the past. Very comfortable - recommend getting one size smaller.

The jersey is what I expected. Feel a lot like wool jerseys I wore back in the 70's and 80's. I also like plain jerseys that don't have advertising.

I recommend getting a size smaller. Last year I bought a large directly from Kucharik and while it is a nice jersey it is a little big for me. I just bought two from Bike Tires Direct that are mediums and they fit great. Note I am tall and thin and even the lengths of the arms are good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2015
by sevenz
Competitive Racer
Long Island, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great wool Jersey...Fits true to size

Great wool Jersey...Fits true to size

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2015
by Kickstand
Casual Cyclist
Auburn, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great product-Order larger size

Great product. Order up if you are normal size man. Cut close for us Clydedale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2015
by habeen
Cycling Enthusiast
lincoln,ne
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great quality

I have a collection of great Kucharik wool now - may have them all before it's over - great price and customer service from BTD

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2017
by Brooklyn Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice classic jersey with that I don't even feel it on me fit. It just falls like it should.

I've been riding bikes seriously since the days that all that was available was, all-wool. This jersey is made like they used to be! Steel bikes have a unique feel, and wool clothing is in the same vein, along with leather saddles and shoes. Some things just work, and have no need to be improved. Get them while you can.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2015
by Nathan C
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My new favorite jersey

I'm a year round cycle commuter and weekend rider. Riding in Portland in the winter requires a mix of versatile gear. Warmth and dry are two big features for me. This jersey is super breathable and very warm even when wet.

I've long been a fan of the Pearl Izumi thermal jerseys & find this jersey to be equally warm, but has better coverage(esp sleeve length).

Great for layering and hasn't yet gotten stinky like synthetic fibers can . Sometimes .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2017
by Jerry
Front Range Colorado
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
One of my favorites

Essential part of 3 layer riding down to 0F. Perfect on it's own for high 40's to mid 50's. I wear it for almost every morning ride.

So comfortable I forget to take it off or just wear it as a shirt. It does fit loose, but it doesn't flap in the wind. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2014
by KickPants
Cycling Enthusiast
columbus oh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice jersey for TALL guys

I wear the Kooch wool jersey in temps between 40 -68 deg F, No complaints about the materials, and construction, but the fit is extra long, better suited to those 6'3. On me, it looks more like a tunic than a jersey. If you wear a 42 long sport jacket, then you better go one size smaller.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2014
by Ezra Ryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great wool jersey

I really love my Kucharik wool jerseys (I own two). In the winter I wear one under my jacket and they are just right for 40-ish temps. I like the way they wick moisture away from my skin, they don't develop odors like many synthetics and they last for years. Merino wool is soft, doesn't itch, doesn't shrink and is easy to wash. I also really like the fact that they are made in the USA.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.