Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Giro Agilis MIPS Road Helmet

GiroAgilis MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(6)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(83%)
(15%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/27/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Its become my helmet of choice

I needed a quick replacement a few years ago and Agilis was on sale. I was pleasantly surprised by the fit and weight and bough another the following year. This was my fourth Agilis and I am just as happy as with the first. Its an incredible value, good on weight and ventilation and Giro quality is (in my opinion) excellent!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matthew

Reviewed 4/26/2023
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent MIPs Helmet: Incredible Price

I needed an extra helmet in "white" and the Giro Agilis has proven to be exactly as comfortable and well-fitting as my other top-of-the-line Giro helmet. I can't recommend this helmet enough if this is the price point you are looking at. You could probably do a blind test, and I wouldn't be able to tell which helmet I was wearing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim

Reviewed 8/28/2021
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It's SO good looking!

Wanting to upgrade to a MIPS helmet. I was immediately drawn to the styling of the Giro Agilis Matt Portaro Grey/White/Red model. For me, the shape of the helmet and the subtle graphics break up the embarrassing "bulb-head Dork" look of most ventilated helmets.

The more I use it, the more I love it. The thin foam cushions and the ratchet adjusting dial make it very comfortable. For sizing, I found that their instructions (based on head circumference) worked for my tall skinny head. One word of caution about chin strap length: I'm perfect, but I had to adjust the strap out to its very end limit. Some other "tall heads" might find that the strap is not long enough for them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Most comfortable helmet I've owned

I am an ex-roadie, but now I'm primarily a commuter (pre-Covid) and sometimes roadie. This is by far the best fitting, most comfortable helmet I've owned or tried on. I have not had a chance to wear it in hot weather, so I can't speak to the airflow, but it looks like it would be good.

It's going to be on the heavy side if you're counting grams, but I've worn it on fairly long rides (2+ hours) and forgot it was there.

This is my first MIPS helmet. Thankfully, I have not tested it's crash worthiness.

The only reason I didn't give it an Overall rating of 5 is principle - I don't think I've ever rated any product a perfect 5. However, in terms of Value, a definite 5.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/21/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fitting helmet

I wear a size 7 1/2 hat, purchased a Large and it fits nicely. Previous Large Giros I've purchase have been snug, so I was quite pleased with the fit. Bought the helmet as it was good value on BikeTiresDirect's "Daily Special." One slight objection is the chin clasp which while it holds firm, is a devil to unclasp; seems to be of a lower quality than clasp my older Giro helmet.

Overall, pleased with fit, color (matted white), lightness and the MIPS safety feature this model offers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/15/2023
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's a nice lightweight helmet

Lightweight, fits well, and the light is nice!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ranger Dan

Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Ranger Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A well designed helmet

Giro has many styles of one size fits all helmets. This one is size specific and fits very comfortably. It has great webbing around the top and snugs for a comfortable fit. The back comes down to the base of the skull and around the ears. MIPS is always a benefit. There is plenty of ventilation and is an overall great helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/13/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Fit

I purchased this helmet after reading the specs. Even it is not top of the line model. It is good for me.

Great cooling and includes extra padding.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Renaud

Reviewed 3/10/2022
by Renaud
Florida
Overall Rating
Great MIPs helmet from a reliable manufacturer at affordable price

Comfortable fit. It sits a little lower on the forehead than my Rudy Project helmet, but tightens up snugly so doesn't bang against sunglasses. Great price for MIPs technology. This model has several color choices to match your kit. Wish it had a bug shield, but otherwise I'm very happy with it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CincyCyclist

Reviewed 1/27/2022
by CincyCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable, high visibility helmet for a good price.

The real proof of a helmet comes in its ability to protect in a crash, and (thankfully) I haven't had to test the Giro in this regard. I like the high visibility of the yellow-green color. The internal suspension makes the helmet very comfortable, and easy to adjust for those days when you need to wear a hat.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/20/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love This Helmet!

The sizing is perfect for as a narrower fit seems to work well for me. I bought the Neon color and boy is it nice and bright, exactly what I was looking for. It has the roller adjustment in the back and that provides plenty of adjustment.

I have worn Bell Z20 helmets for a few years and find this one to be both comfortable and lightweight, AND it has MIPS - all at a bargain price. Not missing my Bell a bit. It looks good too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MB

Reviewed 11/29/2021
by MB
Cycling Enthusiast
Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Exceeded my expectations!

Fits me very well and is actually comfortable. It feels like it's part of me rather than some alien thing sitting on my head. Chucked my older generation helmet in the recycle bin, Agilis was a huge improvement. Purchased a size Med. and fit my hat size 7 3/8 or 59mm head with a little room for proper adjustment and still room for a thin skull cap when it's cool.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/5/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good value for money

I'll start with the only disappointment - the chin clasp. Smaller, narrower, than previous clasps on Giro helmets I've owned. With gloves difficult to unclasp The positives: The "large size" fits my 7 5/8 head, with cycling cap, quite comfortably; good value ($$) for a MIPS helmet; plenty of ventilation; the matte white color looks good and ample locations to attach a helmet light. I'm quite pleased with helmet. I recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Miles

Reviewed 9/12/2022
by Miles
Nampa
Overall Rating
New lid

Does the job,stays cool and MIPS makes it fit, bare headed, hat or sweat band.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BluesCat

Reviewed 11/16/2020
by BluesCat
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love it

This helmet fits good and, almost as important, looks good. Has been cool on hot days. Have no knowledge of crash protection--and hope to keep it that way--but it fits very snug without being smothering.

I'm pleased with this product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by charleyd

Reviewed 10/27/2020
by charleyd
Cycling Enthusiast
SF East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Love the Helmet

Went looking for a helmet as a friend of mine suggested I get a MIPS helmet and boy are those things pricey! after hunting around and checking for the color I wanted I got the Giro Agilis. It's lighter than the non MIPS helmet I rep[laced plus looks real cool matching my bike. fits great and very comfertable

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gainesville, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fits well, stays cool in Florida heat.

My head size was just below the jump from medium to large. I ordered a medium as indicated, and it was true to size, i.e. I was able to wear a medium - the fit is just shy of snug but not tight.

Some sites also say that MIPS makes a helmet less cool, but after 40 years of riding in Florida heat in many different helmets, I can't detect a reduction in cooling.

I still have no idea whether the MIPS feature will help in an accident unlessuntil I have one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Misterride

Reviewed 2/17/2020
by Misterride
Cycling Enthusiast
El Cajon, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight and Streamlined

This Giro helmet is lightweight, streamlined, and comfortable to wear. It fits comfortably with an adjustable dial in the back of the helmet. The flat black color hides scratches and at the same time, is attractive. I would recommend this helmet to any bike rider who enjoy comfort and protection.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/7/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonita Springs, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great MIPS Helmet at a Great Price

I needed to replace my old helmet due to a crash. This helmet fit my head like a glove and I felt very protected, It was on sale so it was also a great buy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by anyweatherguy

Reviewed 1/21/2022
by anyweatherguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida & Newfoundland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable well-fitting helmet.

I am an avid road biker and ride most every day. This helmet fits well and is easy to adjust on the fly. It sits lower on my head than other helmets but is comfortable and very secure.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]