FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Garmin Edge 820 Bundle

GarminEdge 820 Bundle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(3)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(53%)
(20%)
(13%)
(0%)
(13%)
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Yravis
new orleans
Overall Rating
Great upgrade

Will measure almost anything, power, heart rate, cadence, time.

Easy to pair with power meter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2018
by TC
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not perfect at all, but very good and virsital.

On the bad side, the speaker for using with the Varia to tell when cars are approaching was put in the underside, within the mounting area. It makes the sound way too quiet when out with cars and used with the Garmin out front mount. That said, a third party mount that connects to the steering tube actually improves the hearing of the beeps quite a bit. The fields are adjustable to your tastes. There are lots of add ons including the Varia for detecting on-coming rear traffic. While the touch screen takes getting used to, it does work though sometimes it takes 2 or three taps.

On the very bad side, the directions are horrible and LiveTrack which is suppose to allows others to see where you are, doesn't really work at all. As far as that software goes, it is a mess that should not be out in public at this point. hopefully they will correct the problems. It is infuriating that yo pay this much and they don't have that working. If that were working I would give it 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/11/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Ok, but the touch screen is slow to respond

I bought the 820 to use with the tail light radar unit. This being the case, Im somewhat ok with the 830, but the touch screen is slow to respond as others have noted.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2017
by Jacek
Mi
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works great.

Works really well. I use it for cross country MTB. The GPS signalling is good. I was debating between this and Wahho Elemnt and I like the size of Garmin. I can use gniza site to download segments from Strava and load them to Garmin without Strava premium then race against my PR.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2017
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice upgrade from my Cateye.

I have had this Garmin for a little over a month. Setting up the display screens was very easy. I also like that the cadence and speed sensors don't require a magnet to line up. The one thing that I don't like is that there is not mileage counters for more than one bike.

A real plus was that all three sensors in the kit were added to the 820 by the factory. So all you had to do is attach them and everything worked.

I am thinking about buying a second one for my wife.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2017
by P.Petit
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
AWESOME Product!!!

Garmin Edge 820 is AWESOME!!! Garmin Connect is AWESOME!!! The touch screen is AWESOME!!! The best thing I like is the gear indication the works with DI2. Great product. Great tech support. Great all around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2017
by Ed
Daily Commuter
Fremont CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Garneb 820 is compact easy to operate and install and I would recommend it.

I use this product for commuting and group rides with fellow cyclists. I utilize the various sensor options i.e. cadence, speed and heart. The color display is easy to see and usable.

The unit notifies if an incoming call or text is coming in. I wish there was a way to have the message automatically disappear off the screen after a set time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Just what I was looking for

This was an upgrade from a previous Garmin that I was happy with but the 820 is a new level. I like the mapping, the ability to add cadence and heart rate is a plus as well. And of course the service from biketiresdirect was fast and accurate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Just what I was looking for

This was an upgrade from a previous Garmin that I was happy with but the 820 is a new level. I like the mapping, the ability to add cadence and heart rate is a plus as well. And of course the service from biketiresdirect was fast and accurate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2017
by scottbla
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointed by basic flaws

Well...it seemed like a good idea to have a Garmin that paired with my phone to show notifications and such, but the flaws were too annoying. After returning it to get a replacement, then returning the replacement...

1) Touch screen response was inconsistent. With bare fingers it usually worked, but with gloves on it was unusable.

2) Couldn't get Wifi to work right on the first unit.

3) Couldn't get bluetooth pairing to work on the second unit.

4) Usually didn't find my speedcadence sensors on start up and had to re-search for them (which is a real pain on group rides with plenty of other sensors within range )).

I've since decided that maybe my old Edge 800 isn't so bad after all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
michigan
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin 820 nice unit

Avid cyclist who bought this for a second bike. Used the Garmin 1000 and 510 on other bikes the 820 seems to take the best features and combined them into 1 . Only comment is Garmin needs to improve the mounts - they vibrate and move without 2 sided tape

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2017
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Tenneese
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Just okay

The touch screen is not very responsive-sometimes I have to touch the screen many time for it to respond. The HR monitor is better than the old one. I do like the auto upload feature via wifi so my rides get to Garmin Connect and Strava before I even get into the house.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2017
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilly east Tennessee
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
There are pros and cons

Pros Form factor is small compare to the old Edge 810 or the 1000. Built quality is also typical Garmin-which is good. Connectivity is great for all wireless protocols, I love how the rides get uploaded to Garmin Connect and Strava automatically. Seems very accurate with speed, distance and altitude. Battery life has been okay especially if I remember to always turn the unit off after each ride. The HR monitor strap is more comfortable then the old one.

Now the cons The resolution of the screen is very low, especially when we are so use to cellphone screens that are 300-400 pixel per inch. The colors of the map reminds me of my TomTom GPS from ten years ago! The maps are also kind of lame on the 2.3 screen. Garmin, you can do better with the screen when you are charging as much as a decent smart phone for the 820. The touch screen is not that great especially with full finger gloves on. I hardly ever change the screen when I am riding. The cadence sensor has a tendency to stop counting revs after a stop and I need to call Garmin about that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
The Berkshire Hills, MA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Terrible touch screen

I ride 150 miles a week for almost 9, New England, months per year. Many with full fingered gloves. The claim that the touch screen responds to gloved finger touch is laughable. Bare finger touch is rarely effective without about 3-5 tries. The instruction regarding the settings for sensitivity do not make sense without a phone call to Garmin. High and low sensitivity mean the opposite (when it comes to touch). I think that high sensitivity to Garmin means harder touching is required (rather counterintuitive). Regardless, the low and high settings are equally awful. I like the maps and therefore have not returned it. I DID buy a 520 afterward for another bike so that I have buttons to push. The 820 sounds good on paper, but would discourage anyone from buying one

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Trek
New york
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

A lot of info packed into a little computer,I like the live segments for strava; it tells you if you're behind in a segment ,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.