Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Sprinter Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(69%)
(22%)
(3%)
(3%)
(3%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by kdatl

Reviewed 12/21/2012
by kdatl
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid tire.

Been riding this tire for over 20 years. Good wear and value.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/8/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
NYFL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tires held up well during racing over different road conditions

I use the tires on a handcycle for US Handcycling events as well as US Handcycling events. Held well for both.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Havoc2099

Reviewed 10/4/2012
by Havoc2099
Competitive Racer
Las Vegas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire

I use them for training. Good tire at a great price. I've already logged 2k miles and had one flat that was easily sealed. Not too heavy and good grip.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/27/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good value for a durable training tire

Relatively new to tubulars, but put a couple thousand miles on a pair of these before I finally had a puncture. Solid training tire with relatively low rolling resistance for a good price overall.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Speedy Turtle

Reviewed 7/14/2012
by Speedy Turtle
Competitive Racer
Nokesville, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good value for the money

Pros

I installed these tubular tires back in May 2012. I have logged about 1000-1200 miles as of July 2012. These tires are indestructible! I pulled and dislodged fine wire nail off the back tire using a plier and I was for certain I was going to be a flat. To my surprise to this day, the back tire is still holding air. Compared to my best friend's Continental GP6000 clincher tires who has had about four (4) flat tires and major tire cuts, I have been spared so far. These tires are very supple, durable, sturdy, and very lively.

Cons

Difficult to install. The best way is to leave them a spare tubular rims for a week until the tires conform to the rim shape. I used 3M 8031 Fast Tack Adhesive and within hours these tires were ready to rock and roll.

Conclusion

I recommend these tires for every day training, group rides, and occasional road criterium racing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by roadbike1020

Reviewed 1/23/2012
by roadbike1020
Cycling Enthusiast
Mt Carmel,IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Value

Excellent tire so far. A great value tubular.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by VictorB

Reviewed 1/20/2012
by VictorB
Competitive Racer
Marin County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tire

The Conti sprinters can be used as a training or racing tire. I use them for both. These are bomb proof tires that will perform great on criteriums, especially those that have rough pavement, cracks, bot dotts, you name it. For training, they are totally reliable and will last a long time. I usually mount them on rear wheels and use something lighter for front wheels.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/13/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great handling reasonable price

I have been logging in excess of 500,000 feet of climbing (annually) since 2009. I train on a 13 lb. Parlee equipped with Envy 40 tubulars. The high speed descents and breaking associated with my regime tends to shred the tires. I have found the Conti Sprinter to be a reliable, puncture resistant and durable tire, much more so than the Victorias. Only one small complaint is that the Continental tire tolerances are tighter and require extra effort to mount, it is recommended that you pre-stretch these before attempting to bond on rims. Steep hills & Blue Skies, Michael (San Diego)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/3/2011
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing tubulars

These are great tubulars, especially considering they so inexpensive. They ride is better than clinchers and they have amazing grip in both the wet and dry. Racing crits in the rain or shine, these tires have no lack of grip.

They durability is great too, riding over glass, rocks, dirt does nothing to these tires.

The only downside is that they are very tight to mount, you really have to put your weight on them as your stretch them around the rim. My thumbs are quite sore after getting them on the rims.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by myke2241

Reviewed 1/13/2011
by myke2241
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 34 customers found this review helpful.
Nice but...

These tires do ride smooth and fast but....

i had a pair of these. i hadn't ridden the wheel set these were mounted on for a a couple months. Decided to give them a spin. low an behold one of the tires had separated from the the sew. AKA the stitched cloth backing was peeling away causing the tire to leak air. This set had maybe 200 - 300 miles on them. i contacted Continental and they asked me to send the tire back so they could take a look at them. Four months later i asked the shop what was going on. Continental replied back to them saying the tire was too worn for it to be warrantied. will never buy Continental tires again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sandor

Reviewed 5/21/2021
by Sandor
Sarasota
Overall Rating
wondeful

great tire, super fast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tgounev

Reviewed 5/2/2013
by tgounev
Competitive Racer
Kansas City
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tubular

Very good traction, perfect for crits. Seems to be durable as I was skeptical at first. No flats so far, little rocks and other sharp objects don't stick to it as much as other tires I've used. Overall I am very satisfied. Probably the best value out there. I have them mounted on a light carbon wheel set for racing andor hard climbing rides (I use heavier clinchers for regular training rides). I've gained so much confidence with their durability that I go to long rides with no tools, spares or CO2, just a can of Vittoria Pit Stop inflator in my jersey (hope my luck doesn't run out )

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]