FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season with Vectran

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season with Vectran(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(433 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(358)
(65)
(3)
(3)
(4)
(83%)
(15%)
(1%)
(1%)
(1%)
Reviewed 12/10/2018
by Justin
Lomita, CA
Overall Rating
Excellent service and Tires

Excellent service and tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2018
by CoppiThat
Competitive Racer
Pittsburgh, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Another great GP tire

I love my GP 4000 Sii tires and have been using them for several years. I got these 4-Season ones for my fall thru spring riding, as that seems to be their intended use. I also went up to 28s for these and although they don't measure much more than my 25s when installed, I have run them with slightly lower pressures and the ride has felt very nice. While these are supposed to be tougher, I have to say that I've never had a puncture on any of my Grand Prix tires. I have however damaged them right down to the breaker before and I'm hoping this winter compound will be just a little more robust. After the snow has stopped and the PA roads have been cleaned up, I will switch back to the 4000 Sii. But for those days where I can get away from the indoor trainer during the off-season, these seem to be great choice of tire. The ride is very nice and the grip is excellent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2018
by Irish in CA
Competitive Racer
Santa Clarita, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great training tire for the off season

I race on the GP4000SII5000 tires and enjoy the performance to weight ratio of those tires. They hold really well in corners and then during club rides they are super fun to descend on and fare really well against flats when compared to the performance provided. When the race season ended this last season I slapped a pair of these 4 Season 28's on the bike and have really enjoyed them. They can handle gravel and sand, they are almost bomb proof riding on roads with highway bits and pieces of metal, and they can be run at lower pressures to make those long training days a bit easier on the body. Rockysemi-paved trails that will occasionally cut the sidewalls of my GP4000SII's are easily handled with these tires.

The one thing I do have to watch for, however, is the grip when descending. I've come loose in a couple of corners and drifted the back wheel at high speed riding them like the GP4000SII's, which is not the best feeling in the world. Totally my fault for pushing the tires beyond what they were designed to really handle, but I throw that out there as a word of caution to just take it a bit easier when on these tires and pointing the bike through some tight corners at high speed. There is necessarily a small drop off in handling when you are getting the durability built in to these wonderful, purpose built tires. I will definitely buy another pair when my current pair finally give up the ghost.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best Road Bike Tire

I've yet to get a failure with this tire and I am on my second set. I change my tires roughly every 3,200 miles to be safe but could get substantially more had I wanted to. The 4000s kept getting sidewall failures so I gave up on them. The 4-Season is much more durable and gives an equivalent ride to the 4000s. I was told if durability is your main priority then go with the Gator Skins but if you want solid tires that delivers performance then the 4-Season is the best option. For added protection, I also suggest adding Stans sealant to your tubes and make sure they have removable cores. Careful not to remove the valve cores when taking off the pump nozzle like I did and got 2 ounces of sealant in my face. (Pumps with pressure release buttons will avoid this. )No flats since doing this in over a year and I now ride with peace of mind.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
To each their own....

What can I say... these are good tires. Most of my friends use Conti's and swear by them. For me this is only second time I purchased these and I don't think I will again. I live and ride in and around NYC and within 2 weeks of popping these on I had a flat. Ok so everyone gets flats. True. However.... I have used Schwalbe's for most of my riding life (past 4 yrs or so) and I can tell you ... I RARELY, if ever, get flats. In fact I can't even remember the last one. I've ridden over 3000 miles this summer without even a whisper of a leak. The only reason I purchased the Conti was because I was about to ride my 4th or maybe 5th Century and noticed my tire had some cuts. So I thought better safe than sorry. Anyway....I've been riding Durano tires for the past 2 years with thousands of miles on them. The rolling resistance is very good, though maybe not quite as good as the Conti's but very close. So Conti users .. more power to you... I'll stick with my Schwalbe's anytime.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Ohio biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best tire I have for on rough and chip seal roads. one three sets of wheels.

Quiet, fast and handles assuredly on rough country roads. Works ok on dirt paths also. I have it on road bike, and hybrids.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Slim
Cycling Enthusiast
Western North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all around road tire on the Market!!

my son is a cat 1 racer and trains on these year-round.....believe me I have purchased MANY and these are by far the most reliable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/10/2018
by sean
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
winter tires for off season miles

i use these for my winter bike, which is a fixed gear track bike, I ride over city streets in all conditions, including leaves, snow, sleet and rain. Certainly do recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Ride, Easy Mount

Only had a few dry rides on these, but road use is great and smooth. Needed replacements for the stock tires on my 10 year old used bike purchase. Easy to mount using a couple tire levers (not my first rodeo however). Bought for the extra protection after getting almost a flat per ride on my other bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2017
by Don Spencer
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
26 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Very best toughy tires for longevity, puncture resistance, grip, plus simple artistic tread design.

As a 71 year old retiree I have the privilege of riding a titanium Habanero crosstour bike with disk brakes for 150 to 250 miles each week. Plus the Continental tired Habanero takes me on 2 or 3 tours of 300 to 400 miles each summer. I pack light (- 40 lbs) and the 4 Season 28 mm tires carry that total 225 lbs over country roads and hard packed gravel with ease. I buy a new set for the summer tours then ride them out in the wet falls and winters of the Willamette Valley. They flat seldom. Unavoidable road debris cuts the tread but the tough core protects the tube. The slight increase in tire weight provides a security tread for all conditions increasing my confidence in cornering at high speeds. Yes, 71 year olds can attain high speeds and corner without causing heart attacks or strokes. I trust this tire more than any (and I have bought and replaced many tires). I could but wont' name a few duds that cost about the same.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2017
by CD
Competitive Racer
chicago, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Robust tire with good handling quality.

I really enjoy riding on Continental tires. Typically in nice conditions I'll be on Conti GP4000IIs tires but, when I know conditions will be poor and the road may not be very nice, I like to slip on these Conti GP4-Seasons.

I've used these tires for when I'm going to do a long ride in the rain or when I'm going to be going over more difficult roads. I feel quite confident taking these tires through a slightly rough gravel trail section without having to worry about a puncture.

I also used these for a criterium which took place in the rain. A few guys fell in a set of technical corners but I was able to get through with confidence with these tires.

All in all, I would recommend having a set of these 4-seasons on hand in case you are going to be riding in off weather. Or if you expect to be riding on mixed roads, they are quite robust in terms of puncture resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/17/2017
by PacificNW Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, wide, sticky and comfortable

I've been riding the 28mm version of these tires in the beating down rain, crud, gravel, branches, rocks and muck on the side of the road in Pacific NW springtime. No flats, traction is very reassuring and the tires feel great. I ride them at low pressures (65-70 PSI) on wide-ish rims. Did I mention the ride feel is great? Comfortable, not harsh. I've ridden other 28mm tires at the same pressure and those others are not as comfortable. Can't speak to long-term durability but so far they are holding up great with a few hundred miles on them.

Note these are muck and grunge training or commuting tires, not racing tires. That's what I rated them as. If you want lightweight racing tires with low rolling resistance, these ain't those. But as winterspring training tires, these are the best tires I've run in years. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Love These Tires

This is my third set of these tires. They wear great and have not had any issues with flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2017
by Joe Rider
Competitive Racer
Bucks County, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Solid and tough all around performer

I picked up a pair of these while on sale at a great price. I use them for general road riding/training and for a few gravel-grinder organized rides (Hell of Hunterdon, Fool's Classic). After using several brands/models of tires, these have held up the best for the gravel roads. MUCH better than GatorSkins which I have had terrible luck with tearing the sidewalls on several. This is a much better tire IMO and a better price. Supple enough to use as a daily road tire as well.

I'm 140lb and the 25mm work well for me - I don't like the ride/feel of wider tires. Zero punctures, flats, or tears after many miles of rough gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great winter tire

Have always had good luck with Continental tires, and I especially like the GP 4-Seasons for my winter bike due to its nice ride quality, excellent grip on wet pavement, and decent flat resistance. The tread compound does seem fairly soft, which is undoubtedly why they grip so well, so they may not last as long as tires with a harder compound - but for me that's a worthwhile trade-off. I'm happy to get 1,500 - 2,000 miles on a set of tires and the GP 4-Seasons will do that easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by sean
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
winter tires for off season miles

i use these for my winter bike, which is a fixed gear track bike, I ride over city streets in all conditions, including leaves, snow, sleet and rain. Certainly do recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Rik-b
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sidewall issues

The tires feel great. They roll great. However Ive had sidewall failures on both front and rear. Id recommend them for how they feel but cant as a result of the sidewall issues. I have less than 500 miles on the pair. Perhaps it was just a bad day at the factory.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2018
by Len
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany,NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My Go-Tire

This tire has low rolling resistance, good handling and fairly durable. Also, I dont get too many flats with this tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2018
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires!

These are great tires. I got the 25's and am running them at 100psi. Currently at about 600 miles and no flats and no sign of wear. Super happy with these tires and consider them my new go-to tires for all riding conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Someset County, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I was recommended these tires by a biking friend of mine, and they have demonstrated to be an excellent choice

I put these tires on my bike at the beginning of the year, and they have held up really well. Hopefully not jinxing myself by this statement, but I have not had a flat since I have been using them. (My previous tires seemed to be very susceptible to flats.)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.