FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season with Vectran

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season with Vectran(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(370 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(300)
(63)
(1)
(2)
(4)
(81%)
(17%)
(0%)
(1%)
(1%)
Reviewed 5/11/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not as puncture proof as I'd hoped

Flatted on my second ride. Granted, my commute is 24 miles RT in Denver over rocksbroken glassrock saltyou name it. I'd definitely run over stuff that I was certain would cause a flat and didn't, but on a normal ride I got home and found my tire flat the next morning.

YMMV

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2017
by Don Spencer
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Very best toughy tires for longevity, puncture resistance, grip, plus simple artistic tread design.

As a 71 year old retiree I have the privilege of riding a titanium Habanero crosstour bike with disk brakes for 150 to 250 miles each week. Plus the Continental tired Habanero takes me on 2 or 3 tours of 300 to 400 miles each summer. I pack light (- 40 lbs) and the 4 Season 28 mm tires carry that total 225 lbs over country roads and hard packed gravel with ease. I buy a new set for the summer tours then ride them out in the wet falls and winters of the Willamette Valley. They flat seldom. Unavoidable road debris cuts the tread but the tough core protects the tube. The slight increase in tire weight provides a security tread for all conditions increasing my confidence in cornering at high speeds. Yes, 71 year olds can attain high speeds and corner without causing heart attacks or strokes. I trust this tire more than any (and I have bought and replaced many tires). I could but wont' name a few duds that cost about the same.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2018
by Docmikee
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
All around versatile and very reliable tires.

I got 15 bikes and tried most of the tires.

These are far the best All around tire ever.

One time l was descending and a motorcycle just accelerated really loud next to me and thought ke struck me. Bike wiggled big-time to the point where it so stewards and l was was just waiting for it to skid. But surprisingly it didn't and l was able to pick it up. Descending about more than 35mph. These tires are really amazing and won't settle for anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2017
by CD
Competitive Racer
chicago, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Robust tire with good handling quality.

I really enjoy riding on Continental tires. Typically in nice conditions I'll be on Conti GP4000IIs tires but, when I know conditions will be poor and the road may not be very nice, I like to slip on these Conti GP4-Seasons.

I've used these tires for when I'm going to do a long ride in the rain or when I'm going to be going over more difficult roads. I feel quite confident taking these tires through a slightly rough gravel trail section without having to worry about a puncture.

I also used these for a criterium which took place in the rain. A few guys fell in a set of technical corners but I was able to get through with confidence with these tires.

All in all, I would recommend having a set of these 4-seasons on hand in case you are going to be riding in off weather. Or if you expect to be riding on mixed roads, they are quite robust in terms of puncture resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/17/2017
by PacificNW Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, wide, sticky and comfortable

I've been riding the 28mm version of these tires in the beating down rain, crud, gravel, branches, rocks and muck on the side of the road in Pacific NW springtime. No flats, traction is very reassuring and the tires feel great. I ride them at low pressures (65-70 PSI) on wide-ish rims. Did I mention the ride feel is great? Comfortable, not harsh. I've ridden other 28mm tires at the same pressure and those others are not as comfortable. Can't speak to long-term durability but so far they are holding up great with a few hundred miles on them.

Note these are muck and grunge training or commuting tires, not racing tires. That's what I rated them as. If you want lightweight racing tires with low rolling resistance, these ain't those. But as winterspring training tires, these are the best tires I've run in years. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2017
by Joe Rider
Competitive Racer
Bucks County, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid and tough all around performer

I picked up a pair of these while on sale at a great price. I use them for general road riding/training and for a few gravel-grinder organized rides (Hell of Hunterdon, Fool's Classic). After using several brands/models of tires, these have held up the best for the gravel roads. MUCH better than GatorSkins which I have had terrible luck with tearing the sidewalls on several. This is a much better tire IMO and a better price. Supple enough to use as a daily road tire as well.

I'm 140lb and the 25mm work well for me - I don't like the ride/feel of wider tires. Zero punctures, flats, or tears after many miles of rough gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2018
by clarksonxc
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Same 4-season performance, new wider size

These 32mm tires are just like the 25mm and 28mm versions in looks and construction. Unlike the 28mm version, they run very true to size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great winter tire

Have always had good luck with Continental tires, and I especially like the GP 4-Seasons for my winter bike due to its nice ride quality, excellent grip on wet pavement, and decent flat resistance. The tread compound does seem fairly soft, which is undoubtedly why they grip so well, so they may not last as long as tires with a harder compound - but for me that's a worthwhile trade-off. I'm happy to get 1,500 - 2,000 miles on a set of tires and the GP 4-Seasons will do that easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by Jayhawker
Argentine Ks
Overall Rating
28 mm

Love this Tire rides So Smooth on Road. I Ride Between 60 and 80 Psi and I do a Lot of City riding with Lots of Trash on side of Roads. Running less Air helps a lot for Riding Comfort and That's what I Love about these Tires. Haven't had a Flat Yet even with running low Air Pressure. Tire has a Lot of Support also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by tchill
Seattle
Overall Rating
Great, tough tires

City bike lane daily commute for years. Normal wear, but no puncture flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by froggie87
Cycling Enthusiast
erie pa with alot of hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
very good tires

these tires are great I have used them for years and have had only about 2 or 3 flats in about 10,000 miles ,very defendable and wear very well will last you about 1000 miles for rear tire where all the wear is

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
As always, great deal and service.

Excellent deal on these great tires. Seem to be a much better ride than the skins they replaced although those are a very good tire too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2018
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good enough for year round (four season) use!

This has become my tire of choice for year round use. Yes, the Conti 4000 may be marginally faster but Im not racing. The Gatorskin ride is very poor in my opinion which is a huge limitation.

So an excellent wearing, very flat resistant, good feeling tire describes this model perfectly. Occasionally after some rain rides, Ill inspect the tire for imbedded glass. Inevitably I find some but apparently the Vectran has done its job. Ill pick the pieces out, put a spot of superglue in the hole and forget about it.

In short I love this tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding tire

This tire is pricey. But with 430 TPI, puncture protection, and relatively light weight, there really isn't another tire like it on the market. I roll with it on both my road bikes year-around. And I only buy it when it's on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2018
by IL-AZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Split time between AZ and southern IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Go-to road trainng tire

I ride 4000 road miles plus a few MTB miles annually. As a mature but still aggressive rider (70), I appreciate a tire with good durability and performance characteristics. This is a great tire for dependable training and non-race events. Light enough to be an efficient road tire, but tough enough to ride through occasional gravel sections. Very durable and puncture resistant, even in Arizona.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2015
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
My personal favorite road tire

I have tried a variety of tires over the years - Michelin, Vredestein, Vittoria, and several other Conti tires too, but these Grand Prix 4 Season strike the perfect balance between grippiness and durability. I do about 3 rides a week, 20-40 miles., usually in mild dry weather, but often on wet roads. There is often debris ranging from rocks to glass, and these tires are the most resistant to flats of any tire I have ever ridden.

As for mileage, I have squeezed over 3000 miles from them, but that wasn't a good idea. After 2000 -2500 they do start to feel less grippy to the point that even with some decent tread left, it makes more sense to change them. Not unsafe, just less grippy than you'd want.

They are expensive, but if you buy on sale and hold them until you need them, they are not unreasonable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2018
by Anonymous
Portland
Overall Rating
Winter Tires

Super tough tires. Have held up really well this winter. Mainly used for commuting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all-year training tire I have ridden. 25s at 95psi.

Rolls easy. Grips. Tough. Reasonably long-lasting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2017
by Brian
Portlandia
Overall Rating
Still like new!

I know these are highly reviewed, but I want to chime in. The day before my Reach the Beach ride (104 mi), I had a flat on one of my Specialized Roubaix (all winter, no problems). On close inspection, both tires were slashed up bad and chock full of imbedded shards of glass (so much I could have started my own recycling center!). In a panic, I ran over to my LBS, and they convinced me to get the 4 Seasons. Got them home, and couldn't mount them on my Shimano rims. Back to the LBS. Mounted, the ride was awesome. I have over 800 miles on them now, virtually all in and around Portland (which should now change its nickname from City of Roses to City of Broken Glass). There is not one scratch on them! Even the rear tire still has the seam running around the center! My only complaints so difficult to mount, and really hard, and I run them at 90 PSI. But if I don't have to fix a flat, who cares! Awesome tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2018
by Reid Becker
Lexington
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The BEST road tires!

Best tires. For all seasons, and all conditions.

Continental 4 Season offer great grip and long life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.