Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season with Vectran

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season with Vectran(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(468 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(387)
(68)
(5)
(3)
(5)
(83%)
(15%)
(1%)
(1%)
(1%)
Reviewed 4/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
For me, its the Goldilocks tire

Im a 61 year old recreational cyclist. I ride about 20 miles a day during the week and enjoy rides of up to 60 miles on the weekend. Im not fast, I dont own a heart monitor and I dont use a power meter. I ride simply for the joy of it, so I choose my equipment to maximize that joy. I ride an endurance bike and I prefer tires that are quiet, comfortable and durable rather than fast and delicate. For what do, these tires are perfect. They slot in I rly between the GP5000 (faster, but not as durable) and the Gatorskin (more durable, but less comfortable and slower). I currently have these tires on two road bikes and will shortly put them on two hybrids (range of available sizes is another plus). The only two cautionary notes I have are 1) Conti tires all seem to run at last 1mm large - if your frame clearance is tight, beware of this - and 2) There is a black version of this tire and, while it may be my imagination, I think the black sidewall is stiffer than the natural one. Other than that, great tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2020
by Hani
Syracuse, NY
Overall Rating
Really good bike tire for a road bike.

Ive been commuting 25 miles almost daily for 13 years. Definitely best bike tire for road bike commuting. Grips to road. Almost no flats even with broken glass from recycling all over city streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2019
by T Sedillo
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Tires

Balanced and Tough Spin without any wobble adjustment needed. I run 100 - 110 psi - hit potholes and rolled over gravel roads without any cuts or punctures.

Stiff and Grip My average weight is 175lb - have never ran them at the 120 psi max. Feel rock hard at 110 and 100 perfect for commuting and night rides for those sneaky bumps and cracks in the road. The grip to the road is superior, instilling confidence to take turns as fast as you can handle.

Highly recommend these tires and this company - Shipping was fast, (once order was processed) price matching was fast and easy, and the selection, reviews, testing, specs, videos, etc. allow you to research a deep a rabbit hole as you want. Will definitely order from y'all again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2020
by DaveInMass
Daily Commuter
Massachusetts, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all-around 32c tire for me

Pretty fast, pretty light, pretty flat resistant, lasts a long time. My other bike has Conti Grand Prix 25c, but on this bike the 4-seasons never feel slow. Great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2018
by Irish in CA
Competitive Racer
Santa Clarita, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great training tire for the off season

I race on the GP4000SII5000 tires and enjoy the performance to weight ratio of those tires. They hold really well in corners and then during club rides they are super fun to descend on and fare really well against flats when compared to the performance provided. When the race season ended this last season I slapped a pair of these 4 Season 28's on the bike and have really enjoyed them. They can handle gravel and sand, they are almost bomb proof riding on roads with highway bits and pieces of metal, and they can be run at lower pressures to make those long training days a bit easier on the body. Rockysemi-paved trails that will occasionally cut the sidewalls of my GP4000SII's are easily handled with these tires.

The one thing I do have to watch for, however, is the grip when descending. I've come loose in a couple of corners and drifted the back wheel at high speed riding them like the GP4000SII's, which is not the best feeling in the world. Totally my fault for pushing the tires beyond what they were designed to really handle, but I throw that out there as a word of caution to just take it a bit easier when on these tires and pointing the bike through some tight corners at high speed. There is necessarily a small drop off in handling when you are getting the durability built in to these wonderful, purpose built tires. I will definitely buy another pair when my current pair finally give up the ghost.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Merlin
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bulletproof good riding tire.

This is a Bulletproof good riding tire. I use them year round including my rain bike. Its been the tire of choice for 5 years now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Best Road Bike Tire

I've yet to get a failure with this tire and I am on my second set. I change my tires roughly every 3,200 miles to be safe but could get substantially more had I wanted to. The 4000s kept getting sidewall failures so I gave up on them. The 4-Season is much more durable and gives an equivalent ride to the 4000s. I was told if durability is your main priority then go with the Gator Skins but if you want solid tires that delivers performance then the 4-Season is the best option. For added protection, I also suggest adding Stans sealant to your tubes and make sure they have removable cores. Careful not to remove the valve cores when taking off the pump nozzle like I did and got 2 ounces of sealant in my face. (Pumps with pressure release buttons will avoid this. )No flats since doing this in over a year and I now ride with peace of mind.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2020
by Anonymous
east bay SFO
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Flat protection

Good but not great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Ohio biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best tire I have for on rough and chip seal roads. one three sets of wheels.

Quiet, fast and handles assuredly on rough country roads. Works ok on dirt paths also. I have it on road bike, and hybrids.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Russ
dearborn heights michigan
Overall Rating
Good tire

Bought a pair. Got about 1,300 miles on rear then put new one . Will put old one on front. I seem to get a lot of flats. But it is not the tires fault. Good ride Wears well. Rides well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Andrei
Casual Cyclist
Stroudsburg, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for all seasons and holds pressure well.

Used this tire in the rain and it was glued to the road. Would recommend to anyone living somewhere when the weather can be unpredictable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2017
by Don Spencer
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
32 of 33 customers found this review helpful.
Very best toughy tires for longevity, puncture resistance, grip, plus simple artistic tread design.

As a 71 year old retiree I have the privilege of riding a titanium Habanero crosstour bike with disk brakes for 150 to 250 miles each week. Plus the Continental tired Habanero takes me on 2 or 3 tours of 300 to 400 miles each summer. I pack light (- 40 lbs) and the 4 Season 28 mm tires carry that total 225 lbs over country roads and hard packed gravel with ease. I buy a new set for the summer tours then ride them out in the wet falls and winters of the Willamette Valley. They flat seldom. Unavoidable road debris cuts the tread but the tough core protects the tube. The slight increase in tire weight provides a security tread for all conditions increasing my confidence in cornering at high speeds. Yes, 71 year olds can attain high speeds and corner without causing heart attacks or strokes. I trust this tire more than any (and I have bought and replaced many tires). I could but wont' name a few duds that cost about the same.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2017
by CD
Competitive Racer
chicago, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Robust tire with good handling quality.

I really enjoy riding on Continental tires. Typically in nice conditions I'll be on Conti GP4000IIs tires but, when I know conditions will be poor and the road may not be very nice, I like to slip on these Conti GP4-Seasons.

I've used these tires for when I'm going to do a long ride in the rain or when I'm going to be going over more difficult roads. I feel quite confident taking these tires through a slightly rough gravel trail section without having to worry about a puncture.

I also used these for a criterium which took place in the rain. A few guys fell in a set of technical corners but I was able to get through with confidence with these tires.

All in all, I would recommend having a set of these 4-seasons on hand in case you are going to be riding in off weather. Or if you expect to be riding on mixed roads, they are quite robust in terms of puncture resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/17/2017
by PacificNW Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, wide, sticky and comfortable

I've been riding the 28mm version of these tires in the beating down rain, crud, gravel, branches, rocks and muck on the side of the road in Pacific NW springtime. No flats, traction is very reassuring and the tires feel great. I ride them at low pressures (65-70 PSI) on wide-ish rims. Did I mention the ride feel is great? Comfortable, not harsh. I've ridden other 28mm tires at the same pressure and those others are not as comfortable. Can't speak to long-term durability but so far they are holding up great with a few hundred miles on them.

Note these are muck and grunge training or commuting tires, not racing tires. That's what I rated them as. If you want lightweight racing tires with low rolling resistance, these ain't those. But as winterspring training tires, these are the best tires I've run in years. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2017
by Joe Rider
Competitive Racer
Bucks County, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid and tough all around performer

I picked up a pair of these while on sale at a great price. I use them for general road riding/training and for a few gravel-grinder organized rides (Hell of Hunterdon, Fool's Classic). After using several brands/models of tires, these have held up the best for the gravel roads. MUCH better than GatorSkins which I have had terrible luck with tearing the sidewalls on several. This is a much better tire IMO and a better price. Supple enough to use as a daily road tire as well.

I'm 140lb and the 25mm work well for me - I don't like the ride/feel of wider tires. Zero punctures, flats, or tears after many miles of rough gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great winter tire

Have always had good luck with Continental tires, and I especially like the GP 4-Seasons for my winter bike due to its nice ride quality, excellent grip on wet pavement, and decent flat resistance. The tread compound does seem fairly soft, which is undoubtedly why they grip so well, so they may not last as long as tires with a harder compound - but for me that's a worthwhile trade-off. I'm happy to get 1,500 - 2,000 miles on a set of tires and the GP 4-Seasons will do that easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2019
by bikerider
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Beware of size change without spec change 2018

Beware of size change without spec change 2018

My road bike's brakes used to fit 28mm Continental Grand Prix 4 Season Road Bike Tires, now they don't. Seems Continental changed the size of the tires without changing the numbers or names or actually telling anyone. If your framebrakes used to barely fit the 28 size, the new revision will be too big.

How to tell the difference

Older 28c is embossed MAX. INFLATE TO 116 PSI - 8.0 BAR

Newer 28c has MAX LUFTDRUCKINFLATION 8.5 BAR - 115 PSI.

Flattened out bead to bead dimension of the newer 700x28c version has increased by 5mm. That extra 5mm of perimeter is enough to make them intermittently rub on SRAM Red caliper brakes on recent Bianchi carbon frame.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2019
by Anonymous
Sioux Falls, SD
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent road tire

I use the Conti 4 Season Grand Prix on my weather bike - the one I ride when it is raining or just wet out. These tires grip the road in wet conditions, and they are tough enough with the Vectran to handle the extra grit that gets on everything in wet weather. We have an extremely hard quartz in our area, and this stuff is used everywhere on the roads. It is loose on the surface of paved roads, and sharp bits are embedded in the tar. The Grand Prix 4-season tires don't slice, tear, or puncture very easily so they are working out perfectly for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2015
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
My personal favorite road tire

I have tried a variety of tires over the years - Michelin, Vredestein, Vittoria, and several other Conti tires too, but these Grand Prix 4 Season strike the perfect balance between grippiness and durability. I do about 3 rides a week, 20-40 miles., usually in mild dry weather, but often on wet roads. There is often debris ranging from rocks to glass, and these tires are the most resistant to flats of any tire I have ever ridden.

As for mileage, I have squeezed over 3000 miles from them, but that wasn't a good idea. After 2000 -2500 they do start to feel less grippy to the point that even with some decent tread left, it makes more sense to change them. Not unsafe, just less grippy than you'd want.

They are expensive, but if you buy on sale and hold them until you need them, they are not unreasonable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2009
by Mark (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, Or, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
126 of 129 customers found this review helpful.
The luxury model.

It's packed with features! The Vectran is tops for preventing flats without ruining your road feel. The Duraskin helps prevent sidewall cuts. The extra soft rubber compound makes the tire grip exceptionally in bad weather. ...and all this without weighing a ton or feeling like a training tire. It's great! But somebody's got to pick up the tab, and it's a bit pricey for a training tire. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 88