FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gatorskin 27 Inch Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin 27 Inch Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(38)
(6)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(84%)
(13%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/14/2012
by SF Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Orinda, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for commuting

I commute 30 miles each day and after 500 miles on this tire, I can definitely say that it has out performed my expectations. I was expecting this tire to be heavy and sluggish, but it turns out that you can't feel the heavier weight since this tire seems to have a low rolling resistance.

It has been a great commuting tire with good cornering and absorption of bumps. Can't wait to see how this tire performs in the weather turns wet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2012
by dim5867
Cycling Enthusiast
Mount Prospect, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rolling like a king!!!

I'm a Chicago commuter that rides to and from Chicago 3-4 days a week. Rain or shine these tires are holding up great. These tires give me insane grip on the road and taking those aggressive turns are breeze. Hope this review helps. Keep ridin hard!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2012
by SchwinnJim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Long time, No flats!

Gatorskins are the best tire I've ever used. Sometimes my rides take me out past the dump where there is trash on the side of the road (glass, staples, little metal pieces, thorns, etc). I used to get flats every other week or so. But after putting on the 'Gators', I haven't had a flat yet.

Some have said these tires are hard to put on, but I didn't have any trouble with that. Others also have said that because they are hard, they make the ride a little rough. But again, I say, not so!

I definitely recommend to anyone who is 'tire'd of fixing flats!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
slc, ut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
buy these.

i struggle with flats where i live. i bought these for my back up bike after using them for months on my main bike. i am thrilled to longer worry about getting a flat awhile commuting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2012
by kvberg72
Cycling Enthusiast
eugene, or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, long lasting, puncture resistant tire.

A very durable 27 road tire. I recommend this tire for all weather commuting and touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2012
by C-10
Casual Cyclist
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Riding an Old Bike with Confidence

I bought a set of these for a 1981 Miyata touring bike. I was pleased that Gatorskins are manufactured in this size, as I have them on an old sport-touring bike with 700c tires and have found them much more than satisfactory.

In the 27 size, the Gatorskins are easily installed. Inflated to their maximum 90psi, they provide excellent traction and resistance to road hazards on the poorly maintained suburban streets, country roads, and debris-strewn four-lane highway hereabouts.

I've ridden Gatorskins on chip and seal pavement in blazing 108 degree summer heat as well as in cold winter rain without mishap or puncture. These tires inspire confidence and hold up well in rough use.

The price here at biketiresdirect.com beat any others I was able to find. Purchase was hassle-free and shipping was on-time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, D.C.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product, very few flats, many commuting miles over streets that have broken 4 steel Reynolds 631 or 853 down tubes.

Love the Gatorskins for commuting. Wouldn't race on them, but great for commuting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2012
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
UpState S.C.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The Perfect 27inch Tire

I have a 2010 roubaix Pro, i switched to the German made Continentals on this bike after i had problems with the tires that i used to ride on, i wont name any names, ( they used to be made in France now made you know where there made), anyway the tread was peeling off the tire. i ride between 8000 to 10000 miles a year in the mountains of S.C. and N.C. and hit speeds of 55 to 60 mph i have to have a tire i can trust. Made a move to Continental Gatorskin on the Roubaix grat tire wear better then the others and handle better too, wet handling is spot on. I also have a 1976 Raliegh International, old school that i use on the swamp rabbit trail( local trail to rails), so i put the gatorskins on it and love them, overall if you car about your bike and your safety on the bike look no further. thanks Continental and thanks Biketiresdirect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2012
by Bobcat Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
merced ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I need a solid tire under me. These are my choice.

College student. I put lots of miles from home to school to work and home as well as getting around town. Reliability is important and I'm on a fixed schedule getting around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2012
by Dennis
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota and Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Can not beat the price

I have been using Continental tires it seems like forever because they are the best tire I have ever road on. The price at everywhere else has got totally out of control except at biketiresdirct.com, sure hope the prices hold for a while because i will be buying more. Thank You Dennis

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2012
by Roman
Cycling Enthusiast
DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent, Tough Tire

Basically, I refuse to use bike tires that are not gatorskins because these can take glass, nails, and bad streets. I was having problems with normal continentals for a while. I was getting flats every week. With gatorskins, I think I'll be riding easy. Although these are expensive, the money and time saved on inner tube replacement and repair makes up for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Sarasota, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Seems to be a well manufactured tire for older 27 rims.

These are replacement tires for an old Schwinn LeTour. The tires arrived quickly, correct size, and appear to be good quality (not a blemish product). My body weight exceeds 200 lbs. I inflate the tires to 100 psi. These tires seem to provide better stability than what they replaced which was something I didn't expect. I'm a 61 yoa casual rider getting back into cycling for the health benefits. So far I am pleased with the product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2012
by CraPeugeot
Cycling Enthusiast
Evanston, Il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good grip, no flats

I had been getting plenty of flats. My old specialized tri sport tires had had their time. I replaced them with these continental gatorskin tires. I have not had a flat since. That was probably about 600 miles ago. These tires provide good grip, even in the rain. I commute about 30 miles a day. Part of that as fast as I can, the other part dodging traffic on city streets. These tires work great for both scenarios. It is also nice that they come in the rare 27 inch size for those of us who are content to ride a 70's or 80's road bike. I love passing the spandex clad carbon fiber set. These tires are a great value and I would buy them again. The only drawback is that they are a little heavier than my last tires, but not heavy enough to bother me. Big thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2012
by FRITZ
Cycling Enthusiast
PORTLAND
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
STILL NOT SURE IT WAS WORTH IT

REAL TIRE - FIRST FLAT AT 300 TOTAL MILES, SECOND FLAT AT 525 TOTAL MILES, I USUALLY BY ARMIDILLO'S, I'M STARTING TO REGERET THE CHOICE.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2010
by DwnyRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around tire!

Have 3200 miles on my current set with no flats and looks that I can easily put another 1500 - 2000 miles on them before needing to be replaced. Great traction in wet or dry weather, low rolling resistance also for those long full day rides. Mostly ride on bicycle trails and city streets in the Southern California area. These tires hold up very well to this kind of riding, better than any other that I have tried over the last 15 years. Would recommend these for overall long distance training, and commuting city streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2009
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Richland, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Great Value, Love These Tires!

I bought these tires last fall and have since put probably 1500-2000 miles on them and still have not worn through the rubber strip that was leftover from production. These tires really stand up to the test! Always gripped excellent except for one incident where I was riding in the rain and greeted by a street cleaner around a blind corner driving down the wrong side of the road I don't fault the tires for this one!... One thing I will say, I live in the desert of Eastern Washington State and if you live anywhere that tumbleweeds and their prickers or goatheads some call them are, there is not a tire in the world that will resist them, so don't waste your money on a more expensive pair. My dad has $75.00 Schwalbes claiming to fight flats and he flats out just as much as me, stick with these and you will be happy!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2009
by BJ
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
I have put over 4800 miles and am purchasing my second pair

I have put over 4800 miles on my present pair and am purchasing a second pair for the next seasons rides. They were stellar on RABRAI and have completed 2 GOBA plus other single day rides as well as my local touring around Ohio. I have complete confidence in the Gatorskins and until I have to look for other brands, I will continue to use the Gatorskins.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2009
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
37 of 39 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around commuting, training, recreational road tire.

While there is no such thing as a bullet-proof tire, and the UltraGatorSkin is not bullet proof, it is my favorite compromise between incredibly puncture resistant, but stiff as...monsters line Armadillos, and incredibly puncture prone race tires. The UltraGatorskins are a great blend of puncture resistance and handling.

I have a pair of these tires on my commuter and another on my higher end road bike. While I commute year 'round, often carrying 25 lbs or more more of commuter stuff with me, I live in the SF Bay Area and it never gets too cold, although it gets wet and, of course, very dark in the winter. I like the traction I get, wet or dry on curves, even when fully loaded and the low rolling resistance on the straight away. I have had several flats on these tires, mainly occurring in the dark on wet roads where I have more trouble seeing major obstacles. Still, I believe that I have had many fewer flats on these tires than on other makes of tires. Further, every flat I have suffered after switching to ultragator skins has been caused by a major piece of debris drywall screws, giant shards of glass, etc.

On my fancy new road bike, which I enjoy riding in good weather and taking on longer group rides, century rides, etc, I have been very fortunate to get no flats in the 1000 miles of riding I have done on the gatorskins knock on wood. While they are not the lightest tires on the road, they aren't bad. Also, how much faster do you have to be to make up for the time it takes to fix a flat?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2009
by smarc1214
Cycling Enthusiast
Akron, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
42 of 42 customers found this review helpful.
great tires

I waited until I put 975 miles on these tires to say anything. They feel good and I have never had a flat. Some of the roads I ride on are pretty rough. I recommend these tires very much. I haven't noticed any sort of speed problem with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2015
by Boomer 10/45
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville,TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good fit for an old Raleigh.

Bought these for my daughter's bike an old 19 Grand Prix after she finished college. She has ridden this bike in town for the better part of a year rain or shine. No problems what so ever with these tires and she likes the comfortable ride. I also bought her a patch kit and tire levers but the tires will probably wear out before they get a puncture. Great tires for the price and if you have an older bike with 27 wheels give these a try before buying 700C wheels and tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.