FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(89 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(77)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(11%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by BIKEMAN
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire &40Folding&41 is the best flat protection tire on the market, hands down.

The Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (folding) is utilized on a Trek 1.1 and 1.2 Road Bike, averaging 38-57 miles per day. What I like most about this tire is the mileage indicators on the tires that let you know when to exchange them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
They're great

This was my second purchase of these tires after looking for a tire that was flat resistant, long lived, and rolled fast. It's been a great all around tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Allen
NW Arksnsas
Overall Rating
Great set of flat proof high mileage tires

I have put several hundred flat free miles on these tires and they still look almost new! They are a tiny bit heavier for the weenies and maybe a tad less plush, but if you hate changing tires on the roadside (especially in the cold), these are awesome tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These never let me down on century rides

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Pmello
Southern California
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tire

I've been researching all makes and models of tires for the past several months and finally decided to go with the Gator Hardshell. I've had them for several weeks now and they have surpassed my expectations. They ride much better than the stock rubber that came with my Specialized and offer fantastic grip. I highly recommend them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2018
by SunCityTXBiker
Central Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, Stable, and Durable

Using other brands and non-hard shell I've experienced flats several times a year. Since using these hard shells, I have experienced no flats. Riding on rough country roads with cactus needles, glass, sharp small stones, pot holes, and bad expansion joints have never caused a flat. I can easily get over 4,000 miles on the rear tire.

Because of the heat and rough roads, I do change both tires yearly can never be too careful

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Don't fit on rims

I tried this tire on two different rims. It will not go on without brute force. I destroyed two tubes trying. Would not be able to do a roadside change.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2018
by 240rwilk
Cycling Enthusiast
Avila Beach Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires, best price!

Road biking. Have used this brand for years. Never had a problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2016
by Roundlegs
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa,FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire, reasonable tread life but I still get glass punctures.

I use these tires forSaturday rides, training and racing. Corner and handle well but I still have as many of not more flats as riders with standard tires. 21 ratio.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2018
by Anonymous
Grover Beach, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great long distance tire

Nice to have the Kevlar and avoid flats on ultra distance rides but best part is being able to change these ones on the fly. As a women with not as much strength in the hands some Kevlar tires are very difficult to change without a tool but these with a softer edge I can manage without a problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2018
by nanfourteen
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Tire Ever

I've used Gatorskins in all weather and a lot of different terrain and it never disappoints and they last forever! I was a courier for 10 years and I got the least flats of anyone...maybe 1 every 6 months and that is with riding 9 hours a day!! Ready to head out on a tour with some new Gatorskins! I'll let you know!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
The go to training tire

Every time I go away from Gators I find myself coming back to them for the best training tire. I'm 185 lbs and ride about 5,000 miles a year with just one or so races. I keep my tires at 100 I ride both DFs and recumbents. Recently I tried the new Michelin Pro 4 Endurance on my bent. On the rear, one week punctured with a wire shard from steel belted auto tire, two weeks later a goats head. I like these tires as they roll well and corner well, but I don't like the flats. I have had a Gator Hardshell on my other bent for over a year with no flats and just one very small cut. I'll still use the Pro 4s on the front but not on the rear of my bents as that's were most of the weight is. It's hard to beat Gators for strong tires. The Hardshell is even better with the thicker sidewalls, that's were I got the goats head on the Pro 4..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Fat Daddy
Casual Cyclist
Rowlett,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Flat free

Casual rider, not concerned with weight or rolling resistance, just hate getting flats. They were hard to get on HED wheels. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Fat Daddy
Casual Cyclist
Rowlett,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Flat free

Casual rider, not concerned with weight or rolling resistance, just hate getting flats. They were hard to get on HED wheels. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2018
by Mikebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best tire for reducing flats

I hate having to fix flat tires while in the middle of nowhere. I've been using the Gator Hardshells for quite a few years now and my number of flats has quite nicely. They are long wearing so I don't need to replace them very often (I rode over 10,000 miles last year).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2018
by Anonymous
texas
Overall Rating
Great tore

Road on these for years,no flats

You can't go wrong,very dependable

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2018
by Tony Buffington
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires for glassy California roads!

I've used these tires all over the Sacramento ValleySierras 150 miles a week and 1 flat in 2 years (3 sets of tires). Also theeasiest to mount I've found (Shimano and Altamont rims) Not the lightest available, the the durability more than makes up for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2018
by Dario
Cycling Enthusiast
Indio, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires, have used them time and again, good guard for puncture protection.

Have used the Gator Hard Shell tires for a few years and I am very satisfied with its duration, and puncture protection. They may be a few grams heavier than other race tires, but since I do not race but just road ride a lot I prefer them for their toughness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2018
by Wambwaze
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire. Grab all you can when they are on sale.

Value rating is based on sale price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/1/2018
by dekaru
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best puncture protection ever. Period.

If you don't ever want to ruin a group ride by being that cyclist that suffers a puncture, this is the tire for you! Sure, it might be a bit heavier than other race tires or could make use of a bit more grip, but that sounds like a fair price to pay in order to be able to ride over grime, glasses and debris for over 5000 miles!

Don't buy the gatorskin version, this is the legit one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.