FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race Bib Shorts

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race Bib Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(83 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(65)
(15)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(18%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/16/2018
by C Buckley
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Shorts

These are great shorts, I only wish I had tried them sooner! The chamois is the feature that really makes these so nice, specifically the shape and the way the edges of the chamois are thin to minimize chafing. I have previously used the top model Pearl Izumi bib shorts for years and they performed ok but in the last few years my mileage has increased and I was getting more and more irritationchafing resulting in minor sores (especially in the Central Texas summer sweat season when everything gets soggy). These Castelli shorts rival the much more expensive Assos shorts in comfort and chamois performance. The only thing I would change would be to add a bit of length to the bib straps since I am tall and the size that fits my legships is a bit too shorttight from a length perspective ... it's not really a problem when in riding position but noticeable nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2018
by MidAtlantic Bike Tourist
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best shorts so far

Great chamois, comfortable straps, no bunching in the groin. I'm 5'8 and 165 lbs, and large is a good fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2018
by N. Velez
Miami
Overall Rating
Perfect

Castelli for me has never been a shot in the dark they never disappoint. As always size up. These bibs are great for a hot steamy 3hr ride here in Miami. Comfortable and cool!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sizing Is Meaningless

First off, I am 5'11, 180 lbs. I admit that I am a bit heavier than my usual 165 lbs for reasons I won't bore you with. Losing the extra weight is a priority at the moment. That aside, this appears to be a nicely made, if rather pricey, pair of bib shorts. I say appear because I have yet to use them. The reason? The fit! I studied the sizing chart carefully and came away believing the XL would fit me fine. Wrong. I swear, trying to slip this thing on was like putting on a too small condom. It was so tight I could barely breathe. I don't know how much weight I'll have to lose to fit into this, but it could be at least 20 pounds.

My question for Castelli is who are you making these for? Eighteen year-old professional cyclists? Come on, calling this an XL is like calling a size 8 shoe a 12. And whoever came up with that sizing chart needs to get some real world experience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2018
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super comfortable!

The Castelli bibs are the most comfortable shorts I wear. I am able to ride for HOURS with no discomfort. I highly recommend Castelli bibs. They really do run small relative to their identified size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit. Comfortable

Like the fit and comfort over long rides

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Oregon rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Castelli bibs

An awesome pair of bibs!......but be sure to order one or two sizes up from your normal size! Castelli is not the cheapest.....but you get what you pay for! Very comfortable for all day rides!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Castelli 2014 Men's Free Aero Race Bib Short
Reviewed 10/13/2014
by K. Holland
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
The best bib shorts I've owned

The material used in these bib shorts is of very high quality. I have around 1000 miles in them and they've been washed numerous times (be sure to hang dry). All stitching has remained perfect and the material shows no signs of pilling. The leg grippers are thin, simple, comfortable and perform great. The mesh straps are airy and the feel of them disappears while riding. The Progetto x2 air chamois really completes the package. I've had issues in the past with chamois that have uneven edges (pod like areas) where they contact the skin. The ultra soft material of the Progetto X2 chamois is flat with any padding thickness variations taking place below the skin contact surface. I've worn these on several century rides and when paired with DZNUTS chamois cream have had no issues. These are and will continue to be my go to bibs for every ride over 60F. Just waiting for the right price to order more!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2018
by Wjp
Auburn ME
Overall Rating
Great bib shorts

Well made. My only criticism is the ugly scorpions on both my thighs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfort and Style

Great looking pair of bib shorts for long rides. Excellent feel and comfort. You may need to size up, I'm 5'11 and 175 lbs and large fits perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2018
by BobbyG
SC USA
Overall Rating
Go 1 size bigger

I'm 5'11 190 lbs. I wear large in most cycling bibs or shorts. I followed the advice of many others & ordered XL. Perfect fit. They are comfy, cool, & stylish. The chamois is great for long rides. Too soon to say anything about longevity but was happy I bought these at % off. $ off brought them into the affordable realm for me. My only knock is the long tag in the rear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2018
by WiscoBiker
Competitive Racer
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Bib Shorts

I wore these shorts today on a 3 hour ride in 90 degree weather. They were awesome in the heat and I find them more comfortable than any of my other bib shorts.

I sized up from my normal Large size selection and purchased XL's. I am 185 lbs and 5'10.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Napa Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great pair of bibs

Great pair of bibs

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2018
by bl226009
Cycling Enthusiast
west palm beach, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best bib, period

already my fourth castelli aero race bib. by far the best product on the market. converted my wife and friends. everybody loves them.

use them for DK200 and don't have any butt pain after 200 miles

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super comfortable!

The Castelli bibs are the most comfortable shorts I own. I can ride for hours with no discomfort at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super comfortable!

The Castelli bibs are the most comfortable shorts I own. I can ride for hours with no discomfort at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by Ribo68
Cycling Enthusiast
Charleston, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great value for the money

I have 2 pairs of these. They are by far my favorite bibs. They hold up well and are super comfy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2018
by Triall55
Cycling Enthusiast
Laconia, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Summer Bibs

I have worn these bibs for 2 rides so far, one 24 mile's the other 28. I have not done a long ride yet but on these 2 ride's the shorts were very comfortable and the fit was right on. I'm 5'8 and 143 lbs and the Medium fit tight but perfect on the bike. I need to do a longer ride to be sure on the long distance comfort or I would have given 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2016
by ScottP
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great fabric, not so great fit

First, the good stuff. The fabric is great - light, supportive, very breathable. The leg grippers are also well designed - somewhat mesh-like, so they're cool in the heat, and they allow some sunlight to pass through which minimizes the sharp tan line lines. Finally, the flat seams are comfortable and non-chafing.

Now the not-so-good, specifically, the fit. As others have mentioned, these run small, so you'll need to order one size larger than normal. And I did, yet they were still very tight in the quads (everywhere else was fine). The oddest part of the fit was the pad. There's an ample amount of padding at the rear of the pad, well beyond what would make contact with the saddle, and seemingly unnecessary. On the other hand, there's a distinct lack of padding in the frontal area. While some might this free sensation (they are called Aero Free after all), I found it uncomfortable after 50 miles in hot weather. Finally, the padding itself seems very thick (too thick) in the perineal area which hampers long-ride comfort.

As a point a reference, I have several top-end bibs by Assos, Nalini, Squadra and ViFra, none of which give me any problems, even on longer (100) mile rides. These Castelli's are distinctly less comfortable than all the others (some costing much less) and will likely be relegated to short races and club rides. Sad, since I have several Castelli jerseys and gloves and they're among my favorites.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2016
by FeltF2rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Should have tried bibs sooner.

Although more than I would have spent on competitors shorts, these are worth it. Tight but in a good way, and the chamois is not overly big but does the job well. I can't give some rave review like a scribe in a magazine but these fit very well and are probably going limit the use of my other shorts. I am quite pleased with this purchase and can say you definatley get what you pay for. I will buy another set for sure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.