FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race Bib Shorts

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race Bib Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(47)
(12)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(77%)
(20%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/28/2018
by WiscoBiker
Competitive Racer
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Bib Shorts

I wore these shorts today on a 3 hour ride in 90 degree weather. They were awesome in the heat and I find them more comfortable than any of my other bib shorts.

I sized up from my normal Large size selection and purchased XL's. I am 185 lbs and 5'10.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2018
by bl226009
Cycling Enthusiast
west palm beach, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best bib, period

already my fourth castelli aero race bib. by far the best product on the market. converted my wife and friends. everybody loves them.

use them for DK200 and don't have any butt pain after 200 miles

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2018
by Triall55
Cycling Enthusiast
Laconia, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Summer Bibs

I have worn these bibs for 2 rides so far, one 24 mile's the other 28. I have not done a long ride yet but on these 2 ride's the shorts were very comfortable and the fit was right on. I'm 5'8 and 143 lbs and the Medium fit tight but perfect on the bike. I need to do a longer ride to be sure on the long distance comfort or I would have given 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Castelli 2014 Men's Free Aero Race Bib Short
Reviewed 10/13/2014
by K. Holland
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
The best bib shorts I've owned

The material used in these bib shorts is of very high quality. I have around 1000 miles in them and they've been washed numerous times (be sure to hang dry). All stitching has remained perfect and the material shows no signs of pilling. The leg grippers are thin, simple, comfortable and perform great. The mesh straps are airy and the feel of them disappears while riding. The Progetto x2 air chamois really completes the package. I've had issues in the past with chamois that have uneven edges (pod like areas) where they contact the skin. The ultra soft material of the Progetto X2 chamois is flat with any padding thickness variations taking place below the skin contact surface. I've worn these on several century rides and when paired with DZNUTS chamois cream have had no issues. These are and will continue to be my go to bibs for every ride over 60F. Just waiting for the right price to order more!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2016
by ScottP
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great fabric, not so great fit

First, the good stuff. The fabric is great - light, supportive, very breathable. The leg grippers are also well designed - somewhat mesh-like, so they're cool in the heat, and they allow some sunlight to pass through which minimizes the sharp tan line lines. Finally, the flat seams are comfortable and non-chafing.

Now the not-so-good, specifically, the fit. As others have mentioned, these run small, so you'll need to order one size larger than normal. And I did, yet they were still very tight in the quads (everywhere else was fine). The oddest part of the fit was the pad. There's an ample amount of padding at the rear of the pad, well beyond what would make contact with the saddle, and seemingly unnecessary. On the other hand, there's a distinct lack of padding in the frontal area. While some might this free sensation (they are called Aero Free after all), I found it uncomfortable after 50 miles in hot weather. Finally, the padding itself seems very thick (too thick) in the perineal area which hampers long-ride comfort.

As a point a reference, I have several top-end bibs by Assos, Nalini, Squadra and ViFra, none of which give me any problems, even on longer (100) mile rides. These Castelli's are distinctly less comfortable than all the others (some costing much less) and will likely be relegated to short races and club rides. Sad, since I have several Castelli jerseys and gloves and they're among my favorites.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2017
by TahoeCycling
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit, great quality, great styling.

Castelli always fits me perfectly. Their products last a long time and hold their shape forever. They have a tech look and styling, but not over the top. I highly recommend Castelli.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2017
by summerboy
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Bib Shorts!

These are comfortable and fit beautifully! As with most Castelli products, size up one size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by J.B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Ohio Va
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice fitting bibs

Just finished my club's century ride wearing these bibs. They were great and I wouldn't hesitate to order them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by J.B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Ohio Valley, WV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice fitting bibs

Just finished my club's century ride wearing these bibs. They were great and I wouldn't hesitate to order them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by J.B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Ohio Valley, WV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice fitting bibs

Just finished my club's century ride wearing these bibs. They were great and I wouldn't hesitate to order them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2017
by Steve Ballien
Cycling Enthusiast
spokane, washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great fitting comfortable bibshort that works well even on 100 mile days. Suggest sizing up 1 maybe 2 sizes

sounds silly, but the bibshorts fits the contours of my rear end better than any other shortbib I have worn ( assos, pearl izumi, louis garneau, velor etc ) My only bugaboo is they usually dont last as long ( wear quicker ) as a few of the other brands.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2016
by FeltF2rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Should have tried bibs sooner.

Although more than I would have spent on competitors shorts, these are worth it. Tight but in a good way, and the chamois is not overly big but does the job well. I can't give some rave review like a scribe in a magazine but these fit very well and are probably going limit the use of my other shorts. I am quite pleased with this purchase and can say you definatley get what you pay for. I will buy another set for sure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic bib shorts. The only ones I wear.

With BTD's discount, these are a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2017
by John F
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product. These will probably be the only bib shorts I'll wear. I appreciate the sales price.

Great product. Very comfortable. Well made.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2017
by Rob
nevada
Overall Rating
Comfortable Compression

I wear these bibs for both training all the way to 200 mile endurance rides. They fit firmly and comfortably. There is no slipping or rubbing even on prolonged climbs. They are light and breathable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2017
by Tomas
Seattle
Overall Rating
Great bib!

I quit messing around with other bottoms. It's these in summer and the Velossimos in the winter. Look good, feel good. Make sure you size up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2017
by Tomas
Seattle
Overall Rating
Great bib!

I quit messing around with other bottoms. It's these in summer and the Velossimos in the winter. Look good, feel good. Make sure you size up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Usual Castelli superb quality

This is my second pair of these shorts and they do no disappoint. Castelli clothing is second to none in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Castelli 2014 Men's Free Aero Race Bib Short
Reviewed 3/19/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eau Claire, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great quality, comfort and value.

I've been buying different types of mid range bib shorts to see which I like best and so far these are my favorite.

I ordered a Medium size after reading that these sizes are closer to that of a European size. I normally wear a small in club style mid range bibs and a medium in the tighter pro style bibs. These are what I'd call mid to high materials and I feel I made a good choice in going with Medium over small as they do run a little small.

I haven't found much I don't like about these yet. The style of the cut of the chest bib straps is what free denotes in the name and it does fit differently than the other bibs I own where the straps go over my nipples and could potentially rub them (has never happened on any of my bibs) and I don't know if its necessary or not but I can see where in these since they don't rub against them it could make a difference... I don't hate it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2015
by Fenster
Houston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great product! 6'1 180 lbs ... XL fits perfect!

Cycling primarily - chamois is amazing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.