FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Brooks Womens B17 Standard S Saddle

BrooksWomen's B17 Standard S Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(11%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Anonymous
santa cruz
Overall Rating
Comfort and sturdy

People complain about the pain of breaking these saddles in but I like them new or worn. All around great and looks great too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable. A classic for a reason. Make sure you tighten it when necessary, though!

There's a reason this saddle is beloved by cycle tourists worldwide - IT WORKS! Yeah, you do have to break it in a little bit (took me maybe a week of daily commuting), but after that it's wonderful. Comfortable and elegant-looking too. I will say that after a few thousand miles of riding in all conditions (including not-very-leather-friendly rain, etc), it was starting to get a little less comfy. My sit bones were creating indentations in front of the rivets. I'd read online that you should never tighten your Brooks saddle using the little wrench that came with it... and just for the record, that's nonsense. Leather stretches, and if you want to keep the same awesome comfort, you gotta pull it tighter. I used some pliers (since I didn't have the little wrench with me on tour) to tighten it up mid-tour and that got the comfort ALMOST back to where it had been. A few years later, I still have the same saddle on my touring bike, but if I ever do another 1000+ mile tour, I'll probably buy a new one and keep a better eye on when it needs tightening. I also wish the rivets weren't on the seat itself, but most of the time they're not really contacting me or my clothes. All in all, this is a great saddle that's a classic for a reason, and as I mentioned, I would definitely buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by SDBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
South Dakota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The saddle to end all saddles

Got my B17 S as a gift for my birthday. Had about 120 miles on it before I left of RAGBRAI- the bicycle ride across Iowa. Thought it was comfortable from the start compared to my other saddles. Never had tender sit bones, EVER. Just finished 440 miles in 7 days across Iowa and I feel great, I honestly can't believe it myself. Came home and rode the next day...Highly recommend this to everyone that hates their saddle!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2018
by Anonymous
Asheville
Overall Rating
i have the happiest butt!

Maybe my old saddle was so bad that this saddle felt perfect the moment I started using it, but the break-in period hardly existed. It's truly a dream and makes my bike look so beautiful. I'm about to buy another for a different bike!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2016
by Joan
Cycling Enthusiast
Redwood City, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Trying to keep the faith

First ride was absolutely brutal. 20 miles, and I couldn't walk without pain. Second ride was a little better, but still my poor bottom hurt so bad it kept me awake at night. Third ride, better. I could sleep. I think I've put about 80 miles on it now. I have to get this saddle broken in in four weeks for Cycle Oregon, a 7 day ride, and 360 miles. I am hanging in there by a thread, trying not to go back to my old worn out saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not broken in yet, but already comfortable!

I've bought and returned a half dozen saddles, and finally found one that doesn't just plain hurt. Out of the box, this saddle works for me and it's getting better every week. I think this saddle is a great choice for my flat-bar bike, I'm trying a second one on my road bike. So far, so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Most comfy seat

Wow. This seat is beautiful and so comfortable. The soft leather is hollow underneath so it flexes with your body. So comfortable from the beginning. Never felt sore after riding.

Amazing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
This classic Brooks saddle is so comfortable and beautiful!

I'm a transportation cyclist. I ride to work, to do errands, to movies, and other fun. I've been wanting a Brooks saddle for a while, and when my old Avocet wore out, I got this one on sale. My bike is 40 years old, and I think this saddle will last another 40 years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle, as always.

save your bum and buy a brooks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.